Rain Makes Mud

Standard

Today I’m praying for rain and kitties.  I just hung laundry out, so there’s a slight contradiction in my actions, but oh well!  I can throw it in the dryer if it rains, and if it doesn’t rain, I’ll have nice fresh-smelling laundry.  And I’ll have saved, what — $.50?  I don’t know.  I’ll have to research that.  I’m sure it’s at least $.25, which will buy me one diaper.  If it is $.50, that’s a pull-up!

It rained a little yesterday, and we all ran outside and played in the wet grass and mud.  Except Derek.  He stayed inside and ate supper like a sane man.  Hey, it was an exciting event!  It hadn’t rained here for months.  The corn everywhere is dry and pointy, and half my flowers are dead.  (I have huge flower beds, so that’s a lot of dead flowers!)  I have to water my baby crabapple trees and japanese maple trees every other day, and Derek’s mom and dad have to water the garden and orchard constantly.  We still need a lot of rain!  I’m sure we’re not the only ones praying.

My cat and her kitten  disappeared Sunday.  I’m really sad about this!  Kirstyn is sad too, of course, since the kitten, Tiger, was her very own to keep.  I keep waiting to see if they’ll just show up again, but it’s been three days now.  They probably found a new home, due to Erin’s cat Cassie.  Cassie has always been an aggressive cat, and now that she has kittens of her own, she’s turned nasty to the other cats.  Naiah (an old, sick cat I wanted to get rid of anyway) disappeared two weeks ago, and Annie and Tiger are gone now.  Tiger had been already been attacked a few times.  The whole top of her head was all bloody and missing huge chunks of fur.  Stupid Cassie.  Erin, get a house!

On a completely unrelated topic, I finally have a child that eats boogers!  Cameron!  No, I’m not proud of this, but I was actually surprised that none of my other kids discovered this childhood activity.  This morning I noticed a booger in Cameron’s nose, and then it was gone.  I asked him if he got it, and he said, “Yep.  I ate it.”  I’m like, “Eww!  Gross!  Don’t eat boogers — who taught you that?”  Cameron pipes up with, “You.”  I didn’t!  Honest!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. I love reading your posts!! lol, on the diaper/pullup part…and who couldn’t resist giggling over the booger ending? Classic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

