Beach Bums

Standard

Playing hooky again!  “Lover, Lover” is playing in the background, at #7 this week on the country charts.  I think Carrie Underwood is up next.  I really don’t care for that girl.  Sorry, any Carrie fans!

 I stayed home from church to see Kirstyn and Cory off to the beach.  I miss them already!  Aunt Chrissy called on Friday and said she and Bruce were camping at Assateauge Island this weekend.  Would Kirstyn and Cory want to come?  Um, YES!  When Kirstyn found out, she came running to find me, her face all pink with excitement.   She said, “Mommy, guess what?!  Me and Cory are going camping with Aunt Chrissy, and Cameron and Megan aren’t coming!”  Cory couldn’t stop saying, “We get to skip church!”

So I packed up swimsuits, towels, sunscreen, jammies, more clothes than they needed, plus a sweatshirt in case they get cold, lots and lots of underwear for Cory, another swimsuit and towel each, flip-flops, pillows and loveys, snacks, and new toys/coloring stuff for the car.  (It’s been at least a decade since Bruce and Chrissy had to deal with, “Are we there yet?”)  Forgot toothbrushes.  Shoot.  Toothpaste on the finger will have to do!  I’m sure they’ll love it.  And both Kirstyn and Cory should find a note in their suitcase tonight.  (My dad started this note-leaving tradition a long, long time ago.  I was probably Kirstyn’s age?  Yeah.  That was a long time ago.)

Megan is sleeping now, so the house is silent.  Until Cameron gets home from church in an hour!  I should do something productive like fold laundry.  Uh-huh.  I really should…

Double shoot!  I just remembered I forgot their sleeping bags!  Oops.

Oh, and for what it’s worth, I LOVE Steve Azar’s song “Sunshine!”

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like fun! Almost as much fun as Indian Hollow!

    Had a thuderstorm up there the other night. More predicted tonight…though some of us are home sorting and packing.

Leave a Reply

