The Gap Beach

Standard

Today I was spontaneous.  I love spontaneity.  (Sometimes, especially in my case, I think that word is a cop-out for poor planning!)  This morning at 10:00, I was sipping coffee and watching Cameron and Megan bounce on my bed, when I decided I wanted to go to the beach too!  Kirstyn and Cory were having too much fun without me.  So I hopped in the shower, tried not to step on Cameron or Megan, and an hour later we were in the car headed for Cowen’s Gap State Park.  (To be really spontaneous, I should have skipped the shower.  But I wanted to be a cute mom and have silky hair and non-hairy legs for a day at the beach!)

Cameron and Megan loved the sand and water!  We usually just play in pools, offered to us by kind friends.  Or the creek of course!  Megan thought she was hot stuff, crawling into the water up to her chin.  I only had to save her from drowning every five minutes.  She’d giggle, spit water out, and truck back in!  I carried her and Cameron out near the 5ft. markers a few times (not to the 5ft markers, since that’s only 2in. over my head), and she’d arch her back and scream at me when I told her she couldn’t get down.  She thinks she can swim.

Cameron loved having most of my attention for once!  We  dumped sand on our legs, chased each other through the water, and caught a minnow.  Only because it was sick, I think.  It went belly side up in our plastic container, so I threw it back into the lake.  Where all the kids were playing.  So that was kind of yuck!

Both Cameron and Megan found some pretty girls to play with.  Megan went for the two-year old, and Cameron went for her mom!  She was, in fact, adorable!  Short, spiked blond hair with hot-pink bangs and a scorpion tattoo on the back of her neck.  Cute voice, too, ’cause I talked to her!  I sort of had too, since both my kids were hanging out near her.  I want a tattoo someday!  And a body piercing!

Kirstyn and Cory got home around 9:oo this evening.  Their cheeks are glowing from all the sunshine!  I heard wild, wild tales about sharks on the beach, riding killer waves on a boogie board, a silk deer (with a tick on its antlers) that they pet, dancing crabs in the dark, ponies right outside the tent at night, and a baby pony that looked like a giraffe.  Kirstyn and Cory brought me home three buckets of seashells, and sand too!  I love it.  I love my beautiful children, and I love having them all home again.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Ah! Sounds wonderful! That’s what I want to do! But, I did take my kids to a splash park today and played “Follow-the-Leader” with them. I walked around, marching and singing their silly non-word tunes too! I got some odd looks from people, but I didn’t care because I was having a blast with my kids!

    • That’s awesome! I’m taking the kids up again on Friday, with a friend or two of mine and their kids. If you lived closer, I’d definitely drag you along!

Leave a Reply

