Peaches and Corn

Standard

Is it crazy that I just now put my sliced and sugared peaches in the freezer, at 11:46pm?  Or is it crazier that the time feels perfectly normal!  What I find crazy is that it was only three quart bags!  Seems like it should be more, after peeling and slicing peaches all evening.

We’re in the middle of harvest here on the farm.  That means everything else takes a back seat until the food is safely in the freezer.  Right now it’s corn and peaches, and my kids are in heaven!  They love the machete, husking the corn, cutting the worms out, playing with the corn silk, the (really cool!) corn silker machine, and pigging out on corn on the cob.  And peaches!  I’m pretty sure my kids will be orange soon.  They probably ate ten peaches each today.  Watch out, septic system… and diaper pail.

I usually go up to the “big house” to help my mother-in-law with all the freezing and canning.  The kids help, or pound nails, or kill flies, or roll around the basement on Derek’s mechanic’s roll around thingy.  (I can never remember its real name!)  Tonight I offered to bring  two baskets of peaches home, so Derek and I could watch a movie while I peeled and sliced more peaches.  Plus, Derek put up a huge stink the other day when I didn’t save him any sliced peaches out for peaches and ice cream!  So I had to rectify the situation.  I made him a big bowl of peaches and ice cream.  Mixing bowl size.

Mom H. got like, eight bushels off her peach trees this year?  Something crazy like that.  I should know my facts, but I can’t remember!  Oh well.  I’ll ask tomorrow.  We’ll be doing more peaches!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. I tried to pick blueberries Monday and they were already gone! I couldn’t believe it! We had just enough for a double batch of blueberry muffins. I am hoping to finally have tomatoes this year, the weather for the last few did cooperate. I am jealous of your ‘harvest time’. I can’t wait for the smell of tomato sauce or even better apple pie time!

  2. Love the awesome profile picture on your blog!

    Sounds like fun, Ruth! We are over-flowing here with zucchini, yellow squash, and cucumbers. We already got a lot of lettuce, and soon we are going to have a ton of tomatoes.

    I love the gardening life though! Nothing quite like eating food that your own sweat helped to produce. Quite satisfying!

Leave a Reply

