I Wish I Could Be A Tooth Fairy!

Standard

Kirstyn lost her first tooth today.  I wish I could glue it back in her mouth, and pretend it didn’t come out.  She can’t be that grown-up yet!  She has two other loose teeth, so there’s going to be a big hole in her mouth very soon.  I am looking forward to laughing at her speech for a while!  That’s kind of mean, huh?

I was torn about the whole tooth fairy thing.  Kirstyn really, really wanted to put her tooth under her pillow tonight!  I’m blaming Dwayne Johnson and his “Tooth Fairy” role for that one.  Kirstyn knows the tooth fairy isn’t real, just like Santa Clause, and the Easter Bunny, and mermaids, and trolls, and monsters under her bed.  (Actually, we’re still working on that one!  Maybe she can sense that Mommy hates monsters under the bed too?)  I told her, “If you put the tooth under your pillow, it will still be there in the morning; because there’s no such thing as the tooth fairy.”  But she still wanted to put the tooth under her pillow, just to see what would happen.  “Or,” she said, ” I could put the tooth next to my pillow!”  No.  “I could put the whole container under my pillow!”  No.  “On the windowsill?”  (She would make a good lawyer.  I blame my dad for that one!)  I considered that last request.  I love Kirstyn’s imagination, and I thought, “What harm could it do when she already knows the tooth fairy isn’t real?”  But I still said, “No.”  Maybe because if I knew the tooth was under her pillow, I’d sneak up the stairs and leave a quarter in its place.  I’m a sucker for fairy tales!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. So cute! The boys have known there is no tooth fairy for a while, simply because I didn’t put too much effort into it, and then would forget and try to slip it under their pillow in the morning…never worked. They do like my collection of their teeth though

  2. Awww! Tell her we’re looking forward to a big smile for us in a few weeks. Yes, I remember all these 1st’s….where do the years go? Kinda makes one sad on one hand and excited at the same time.

Leave a Reply

