Trees are my friend!

Standard

My back hurts!  Okay, just felt like complaining a little.  I’m done now.  I don’t think there’s any one particular reason my back hurts.  Could be from sitting in a metal folding chair for three weeks.  Today we canned peaches for six hours, but they’re done!  Whoohoo!

Some back pain could be from hauling kids around, or falling asleep on the couch night after night, or sleeping in the moon chair upstairs while I nurse Megan.  I know it’s not from bad posture, because just yesterday Derek said, “You have good posture!”  I’m not making this up.

Probably a good bit of the aches and pains (nobody remind me I’m almost thirty!) are from lugging five-gallon buckets of water for our trees.  It’s barely rained at all this summer.  Derek hasn’t mowed the lawn even once.  There is no lawn!  It’s dead.  Everything’s dying.  Problem is, we planted five trees this spring.  (And last spring, and the spring before that…)  I’ve been watering them every other day, plus some of our other trees.  Even trees that we planted six years ago are dry.

Don’t ask me what we were thinking, but Derek and I just went and bought four more sugar maples at a tree nursery last Saturday.  Crazy, right?  What can I say… I love trees!  Trees make me happy.  Derek says these newest trees are my birthday, anniversary, Christmas, and Valentine’s Day gifts.  He’s all talk!  Well, maybe half serious actually.  But that’s okay!  Like I said, trees make me happy.  Buy me a tree and I’ll love you forever! 

As we drove home from Buck Run Nursery (where I left my trees for the nursery to water until September), Derek said, “I bet we have close to forty trees now!”  I said, “No way!”  So I counted, and Derek counted, and then we counted again just to be sure, and wouldn’t you know it — we have thirty-six trees on our acre of land.  I’m living in a forest!  It just hasn’t grown up yet.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

One response »

Leave a Reply

