Tree Pictures for Melanie

Standard

Those maples on the right are two of the first trees we planted, six years ago.  We went hunting for them in the woods in the fall, then dug them up the next spring.  The maple on the left is my favorite tree of all!  Don’t tell the others.

Those three crabapples on the left were my springtime Mother’s Day gift.  They are a little close (Melanie!), but this is the view from my front windows, and I wanted to hide that ugly house!  Oh, and there’s our dead grass, too.

We planted these three redbuds last year, near our well, which is hidden in those forsythia bushes to the left.

Here are the crabapples and redbuds together, plus a flowering cherry (top let).  My flowering cherry has some kind of bore killing it.  Derek’s mom helped me drill a hole and sprinkle some kind of poison inside and around the tree.  I’m really hoping the tree lives!

And here are some more tree pictures.  A lot of the trees you see in the background aren’t mine.  My in-laws live next door, and own a right of way on the other side of us.  They have close to a hundred trees!  (We sort of counted their trees too.)

 

 

That yellow tape is where one of my new maples is going.

 We’re planting a maple tree on the other side of the fence in front of that butterfly bush, to shade the east side of our house.

I have a japanese maple and a redbud planted inside this fenced in play area for the kids.  There’s another japanese maple along the back fence.  Now I’m trying to figure out what shade shrubs and perennials I want, and where to plant them!

Derek welded this arbor for me!  I love it!  I planted four clematis plants, one for each section of arbor.  It should be gorgeous next spring!

My favorite clematis…

My favorite knockout rose (I planted six bushes.)

… and my favorite baby girl!

I planted a lot of zinnias, marigolds, indian summers, dahlias, and star flowers.  (That’s not the real name, but I can’t remember it!)  There’s a bunch of perennials too.  Mostly hollyhock, lillies, and foxgloves for now.  I need to transplant some bee balm, daisies, black-eyed susans, purple cone flower, and a bunch of other stuff I have in my old flower beds.

My Cameron!  That’s blood on him, in case you were wondering.  He ran into a tree at the library.  Sad part was, it was a pretend tree.

Of course I had blood all over me, too!  It was all down the back of my shirt too.  I had to stop at the post office and Greencastle Coffee Roasters on the way home from the library, and I noticed a lot of people staring at me.  Way more than usual!  I actually busted up laughing when this one guy, stopped in traffic, couldn’t take his eyes off me.  That’s downright rare.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

One response »

Leave a Reply

