I feel like an army cook

Standard

My family eats a lot.  There’s just no getting around that!  When I fry meat for anything, I have to fry at least two pounds.  How in the world did I raise meataholics?

Today I canned pizza sauce.  Again.  I’m up to twenty-six quarts now, and I’m not done yet.  Oh no!  Last year my family wolfed down all twenty-one quarts and sixteen pints of pizza sauce I’d canned, and then I started buying Ragu.  We ate twenty quarts of that, too!  It doesn’t help that Cameron wants meatballs for breakfast, lunch, and supper.

After I make enough pizza sauce, I’m making chili sauce, salsa, and tomato juice.  I’m positive I’ll have at least one tomato dream before canning season is done.  I hope it’s an action dream, with lots of tomato smashing!  No wait, maybe an illusionistic dream, where I can make all the tomatoes disappear.

In case you’re wondering, I really have no idea what I’m doing with this whole canning thing!  I’m learning tons though, especially with both Shelley and Erin gone.  It’s just me and Mom H. now!  So I do a lot more of the actual canning process.  I love all that I’m learning, and I love the feeling of being self-sufficient.  I’d love to can something in my own kitchen someday, all by my big self.  Just to say I did!

Megan loved the shepherd’s pie I made for supper.  Most likely because it had MEAT!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

Leave a Reply

