I try to make a cherry pie, and end up with barbecue

Standard

My new recipe:  barbecue pie.  That’s what Derek said my cherry pie tasted like.  I didn’t have the guts to try it!  We had company over tonight, and Cory asked me to make a cherry pie.  I tried!  But I never served it.  It was brown!  Not red.  And runny!  Not oozing, like a pie is supposed to be.  Oh well.  It’s just a pie.  I’ll blame it on the jar.  It was a bad batch of pie filling! =)  (It looks kind of red here, but it wasn’t red!)

Can I admit something?  I don’t like to cook!  Ooo, that sounds as bad as I thought it would.  I’m a stay at home mom, raising a large family, doing my best to make healthy meals and be self-sufficient.  So I have to love cooking.  Right?  I beg to differ.  Oh, I can cook!  Yes I can!  I’ve been cooking for a long time, way before I was married, and I consider myself a good cook.  With recipes and multiple hours, anything is possible.  I could make five-star, five course meals if I wanted too.  (And if I had a nanny for my four kids!)  But why in the world would I want to spend five hours cooking?  Crazy.

Apparently, there are quite a few people who actually love to cook.  Like my brother Andrew, and my sister-in-law Erin.  I honor you!  I admire you!  I love eating your awesome food!  But I’ve never envied your love-of-cooking trait.  My idea of cooking is an hour or less.  (I wish that was breakfast, lunch and supper combined!)  Now this doesn’t mean my family eats crappy meals.  Even breakfast is nice here!  We only eat cold cereal once a week, on Sunday mornings.  Granola doesn’t count as cold cereal, because that was hot once upon a time!  We eat oatmeal, eggs, french toast, pancakes, repeat.  Repeat pancakes a lot.  I LOVE pancakes!  (And I make them from scratch, not a box.)

Lunches are yummy too, in my opinion, and I do my best to make suppers everyone loves.  It’s hard with six people!  Everyone has favorites.  I love that kids love the easiest meals!  Like spaghetti!  And mac and cheese!  Tacos!  None of those are my favorites though, so I have to spend more time in the kitchen if I want something I love.  Like chicken pot pie, and stuffed shells, and chicken parmesan.

Me and my crockpot are getting to be best buddies this year!  I have the most energy in the morning — AFTER I’ve had my coffee — so it’s good to cook then.  Put it in the crockpot and leave it.  Voila!  Delicious supper!  Afternoon cooking takes more work.  I’m dragging by then!  I always thought my mom was exaggerating when she said she used to fall asleep reading books to us kids.  She spoke the truth!  It happens!  No exaggeration.  Hey, it’s been proven that our bodies are wired to nap at 2:30pm!  Some countries in Europe even have an offical naptime.  I’m moving to Europe!

So I guess my point is: I don’t like to cook, but I like to eat, and I have a family who also likes to eat, so I cook anyway!  And it’s not all bad.  Kirstyn is old enough to cook with me now, and  I love that special time with my daughter.  We made pizza for supper tonight, but I cheated.  I can buy melt-in-your-mouth delicious pizza dough from Tony’s (our local pizzeria) for $1.95.  It’s also perfectly round — no wrestling with a lump of dough to conform it to pizza stone shape!  All I have to do is roll it out and slap on some pizza sauce and cheese.  Totally the yummiest pizza I’ve ever eaten.  I will never buy pizza dough again!

Cory eating the mini octopus (octopi?) we fried for lunch.  He and Kirstyn love it!  I’ll let them eat it all…

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Ruth, you are a good cook and mommy! I think most of us moms get tired of cooking at some point. I mostly tire of it because I run out of new and exciting ideas for my husband and feel like I just fix the same old. I love your pizza idea. I have made homemade dough. Sometimes, it’s good and sometimes, it’s okay. 🙂

  2. I agree with everything in this post! hardwired naptimes, not wanting to cook for long periods of time! The first thing that came to mind when I saw the post though was this- Can she bake a cherry pie, Billy boy, billy boy.” I can’t. My pies always come out too soupy and wet. Not sure why. I usually try strawberry rhubarb though, not cherry.

  3. I love cooking but I have no patience and constantly poke at food while I’m cooking it, and I’m not good at the basics like boiling pasta/rice, LOL.

    So basically, I like the fast-paced dishes that can have a flexible outcome. An hour or less sounds good to me. I do have a cooking blog with some favorites.

Leave a Reply

