Hair cuttings

Standard

I’m cutting hair today!  Not planned, but I need to do some “fix it” work.  My boys took scissors outside this morning, to cut grass and forsythia twigs.  Next thing I know, Cory’s face was pressed up against my front door.  His forehead looked funny, and I noticed a large bare patch where hair used to be!  Turns out he also trimmed Cameron’s hair.

We had company coming for breakfast, so I couldn’t cut the boys’ hair right away.  Figured I’d tackle it later.  Well “later”  we sent swimming in the creek, in spite of the fact that Cory saw a snake in the water.  Naps were next.  Then the library, for summer reading program prizes and astronomy books for Kirstyn.   So my boys have been running around all day with patchy hair jobs!  (Cory was barefoot at the library, so he really looked like a hick child.)  I’ve been meaning to trim Kirstyn’s hair for while, so maybe I’ll tackle three heads this evening!  Kirstyn’s hair is so long it’s almost dragging on the ground, and I can barely see her eyes.  Megan’s good for now.  Adorable in fact!  I just put pigtails in her hair the other day, and she looked too big!  I took them back out.  I’m glad she’s a girl, and I don’t have to cut her hair anytime soon!  I always cry over first haircuts.  I feel like I’m snipping away babyhood. 

I need a haircut too, but nobody here can help me.  I need professional help!  My hair is longer than it’s been for years.  (Like, twelve.)  Derek loves it, but I’m feeling a constant urge to chop, chop, chop!  Maybe I’ll compromise.  Leave a few inches.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Aw, Ruth! That’s one thing my boys haven’t thought of yet. I keep their hair so short that they would have a hard time cutting it. Plus, I think they dislike hair-cuts so much already that they haven’t found it too tempting to cut their own hair.

    I want to see pictures of your long hair. I bet it looks cute. 🙂

  2. just take a trimmer to the boys heads! it looks great and it’s easy. =) i wouldn’t recommend that for you or kirstyn though. derek prolly wouldn’t like it either. ha.

  3. Did that! Just finished up. Did 1/4 inch on Cory and 5/8 inch on Cameron. (We have a super nice, color-coded Wahl!) Derek usually does the boys’s hair, but I tackled it tonight. I cut maybe four inches off Kirstyn’s hair, and it’s so silky smooth now. Plus I can see her pretty eyes again! Aaron, do you cut your own hair? My brother Steve did all the time — probably still does. Amy, how do you cut your boys’ hair? It always looks great, by the way! Aaron, yours too. =)

Leave a Reply

