Tackling kickball — harder than it looks!

Standard

After my last post, I decided to teach my kids something they’d never learned before.  I picked kickball.  I later decided that I’m not trying out for kickball coach!  Or soccer, or softball, or basketball.  Nope!  Not even t-ball.  Ever.

First, I had a hard time explaining that once you kick the ball, you have to run!  To first base first!  “No, not third base!  That way — first base!  No!  You can’t run back home!”

Once I got my kids to start running, to first base, I discovered that “base line” is a hard concept to grasp.  It’s invisible!  On a homemade, impromptu kickball field it is!  Maybe I should borrow Derek’s chalk line.  Because really, why would you run straight towards Mommy, who’s waiting to “get you!” with the ball?  It just doesn’t make sense.

Once I got my kids to overcome their common sense and run straight to first base, I couldn’t get them to stop.  Literally.  “No, Cory!  You can’t run way out there!  You have to stop and stand on first base!” 

And then the running issue again.  “Okay, as soon as Kirstyn kicks the ball, you have to run!  To second base!”  It didn’t help that second base was an oversized red tub.  You can’t really stand on that.  Although, Cameron did!  I quickly realized that Cameron wasn’t going to conquer this kickball thing.  He kicked the ball and then ran straight to second base.  Climbed up on the red tub, and stood there and squealed in a high-pitched voice as Kirstyn and Cory ran by him.  He stood there and squealed until my ears couldn’t take it, and I made him climb back down.  He laid down in the tree line near third base and pushed mulch around with his backhoe.

Kirstyn was excited once she figured out you get “points” in this game!  She’s very competitive.  (Like, she’s mad that Cory can whistle and do cartwheel flips and she can’t!)  It was all or nothing for her!  Either she’d run to first base and stop, even if I was far, far away fetching the ball, or she’d try to run all the way home.  Even if she kicked the ball right to me.  I tagged her out quite a few times!  No way will I “let” my kids win!  Got that from my dad.  No, I’m not competitive. =)

We learned, “No, you can’t share a base.  No, you can’t pass Cory!  You have to stay behind him.  No, you can’t run backwards.  No, you can’t hit each other!  Hey, you HAVE to run!  Go!”  Foul balls vs. fair balls was hard for them to understand too.  Our base line is invisible, remember?  I laughed so, so hard.  The whole time!  Even had to run inside to pee once.  Maybe if we play a little kickball every day, they’ll be able to run with the big kids soon.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

Leave a Reply

