I’m not sure how the birds and the bees do it, but African lions are pretty obvious

Standard

As soon as the words slipped out of my mouth, I knew we were headed for a talk about the birds and the bees.  Call it mother’s instinct!

Kirstyn was hounding Cory to tell her how many kids he’s having.  Cory kept saying, “BATMAN!”  Typical guy.  I mean, I understood.  The boy’s only four!  Kids?  SO not happening right now.  Cory kept evading the kid question, and Kirstyn kept persisting.  “Cory!  Just TELL me!”

I was folding laundry, trying to ignore the conversation.  (Four days at the beach created a HUGE laundry mass!  I had to fold it.)  But I finally stepped in before Cory got bullied into predicting his paternal future.

“Kirstyn,” I said, “He can’t tell you how many kids he’s going to have.  He doesn’t know!”  I should’ve stopped right there.  But I didn’t.  “He might not even have kids.  Sometimes people can’t have kids even if they want to.”  That’s when I winced.

Sure enough.  Kirstyn said, “They should just climb on top of each other!”

Thanks, National Geographic.

I told Kirstyn, “Well, sometimes that doesn’t work.”

“No, I mean the mommies and daddies.”

“Right, the mommies and daddies.  Sometimes it doesn’t work even for the mommies and daddies.”

“You mean daddies climb on top of mommies?”

“Uh-huh.”

That was it!  She stopped asking questions, and I kept folding laundry.

This wasn’t the first sex talk we’ve had, and I’m pretty sure it won’t be the last.  The National Geographic videos I bought at a yard sale have prompted a lot of conversations!  I wasn’t even thinking when I played that first video about African lions and hyenas.  Turned out to be our sex-ed for the year!  Not that it’s a bad thing.  I want my kids to feel free to ask me anything, and know I’ll answer as best I can.  I don’t want them to find out about sex from a friend or a book.

Oh, and Cory still thinks that wildebeests “poop out the baby.”  We’ll have to have a birthing explanation one of these days!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

  1. The closest our kids have gotten to this discussion was last ?Saturday when the boys climbed into our bed. As we were talking and cuddling, Drew said that he wanted to be a lady when he grows up. Jonathan asked him why that is. Drew said because he wants to have babies. I then said, “No, you don’t.” 🙂 Drew then said, “Mommy and Daddy, you should make a baby.” We laughed and left that one alone.

  2. Cute. One of the best things I did was make sure that the boys knew that sex was not a taboo subject. God invented it so it has to be beautiful right? As long as it is within his boundaries. Cody and I have had a lot of great conversations about ALL kinds of things and it is so much better than what I had. (A book left on my pillow….) Being in a household of boys I didn’t even have talk about ‘girl’ stuff until this spring!

  3. That is so funny! You did a good job! I’m glad my kids haven’t started asking about sex yet. I’m pretty sure Ashley will be the first one to broach the subject even though she’s my second:)

Leave a Reply

