My next thirty years. (We’ll start with just one!)

Standard

On Tuesday, I will be an old fart.  Wait.  Did I just say that?  I yell at My husband for calling me that.  I will be THIRTY!  Years!

It’s not as scary as I thought.  Granted, I’m not thirty yet!   But I’m not dreading it as much as I thought I would.  It helps that Dee is just heaping the compliments!  Whispers sweet nothings in my ear…

Like tonight.  Not sweet nothings really, but sweet nothings Dee style!  He popped in from mowing the lawn and asked me to finish making his tea.  Said if it needed to be warmed up at all, I could just stick my finger in the tea and stir it around.  He’s really good at sweet, cheesy, adorable lines!  He’s also a punk.  Told me I had to have ice cream cake, because thirty candles will burn down the house otherwise.

I started a list of things I wanted to learn and accomplish this year.  Things like make my own yogurt, keep the pantry full of homemade bread and granola (instead of hit and miss), plant a garden, have a baby, learn more about essential oils, tour Europe.   (Oops!  That was pulled from my fantasy list.)  I scratched the list.  For the same reason I never make new year’s resolutions.  I don’t want my life to be ordered by a list!

Right now, I’m still being convicted about love.  About not yelling at my kids, or lashing out in anger, or speaking with anything but gentleness and compassion.  I tell my children to love each other, and glare at them while I’m speaking.  If I can’t make yogurt AND love my kids in the process, I’m not worth squat!  It would be better if I drowned.  (Personal interpretation of scriptures.)  Love is, in fact, a debt Jesus asked me to owe.

I’m still going to try to do it all!  Work hard, learn new things, and love my kids and husband in the process.  It can be done, because God gives the ability.  But I’m going to flop!  I’ll write about my flops, but not only about floppy failure.  About God’s grace too!  Because the longer I’m a mom, and a wife, and well… just a human being… the more I realize how much LIFE is about messing up.   And then accepting God’s mercy and grace, and letting my failures change me into a person more like Jesus.  My screw-ups can showcase His glory!

So again, for me, it all boils down to love.  Yeah, I’ll be baking bread.  But I’m going to color with crayons too, and play Uno, and take more walks with my kids, and listen to their stories and secrets, and bounce on the trampoline, and get a PUPPY!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday! And 30 really isn’t all that bad!

    Totally agree with the goal of LOVE! We heard a sermon yesterday on Love that had me convicted down to my toes! I have so much more to learn about being a Godly mother! Thank the Lord that He doesn’t give up on us!

    On the journey with you!
    Gina

  2. Great thoughts once again, Ruth! I too want to start making homemade bread … from my own ground wheat berries. My mom did it so I know I can too. 🙂

    Grace is such an important word! Our lives are all about God’s grace, and the best way to live them is to walk in that grace, towards our family and those whom God has called us to serve.

    Puppies and babies and Europe… Sounds perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

