Pollyanna is back!

Standard

My kids often get the brunt of my perfectionism.  Too often!  Maybe your mom did it too.  You know, like grump at the kids and then smile at church?  Yep.  I do that.  Must be a mom thing.  It’s not good though!  My kids deserve the same amount of patience and understanding that I would lavish on somebody else’s kids.  More even,  since they’re MY kids!

They’re KIDS!

I strive to train them up in the way that they should go, but forget that it takes a long time to get there!  Hey — I’M not there yet!  I expect my kids to act like adults, and nitpick at their failures.  Instead of forgiving.  Always.

My kids are beautiful creatures, made in the image of God.  Yes, they screw up, just like Mommy.  But I forget to focus on their good qualities!  I have four AWESOME kids!  I forget to keep up that ten to one praise/correction ratio.

If I don’t see the good in my children and praise them for it, they’ll seek praise somewhere else.  They soak up attention like a sponge!  Now is the time for me to bond with them for life.

So.  My Pollyanna Project.  Sounds kind of corny, but I like it!  My friend Amy inspired the idea.  If you’ve seen the movie “Pollyanna,” you know exactly what I’m talking about!  If you haven’t… go watch it.  Just kidding.  No, I guess I’m not!  It’s a good movie, and I think I’m ready to watch it again after what — fifteen years maybe?  Twenty?  Can’t remember.  I’m getting old!  Anyhow, Pollyanna always looked for the good in people.  At least once a week, I want to write about the beautiful things I see in my kids.

But not tonight.  It’s already four minutes into my birthday, it’s that early in the morning!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Ruth, when I saw your title I got excited. This is something that has been impressed on my heart too. We are so blessed!! Enjoy your lovely day, sweet friend of mine!

Leave a Reply

