Smeared windows

Standard

A few days ago, I announced, “The only thing I want for my birthday is a clean house.”  I wanted to be able to relax, and not deal with laundry on the couch, smashed fishy crackers under the couch, leftovers under the kitchen table, dead stinkbugs under my bed, or hair and dried pee spots in the bathrooms.

Derek laughed!  I’m not sure if it was a,” Oh Babe, your house is already spotless, so you have nothing to worry about!” chuckle, or more of a, “Bwahahaha!  Dream on, girlfriend!”  I didn’t ask him to interpret the laugh.

My kids heard me, though!  Next thing I knew, Cory was scrubbing away at my glass front door.  He’d gone over to the Pampers dispenser and grabbed some baby wipes to help me clean.  I melted!  The wipes just smeared the (beautiful) fingerprints into even worse smudges, but I didn’t say anything.  He did my windows, too, and then swept the back porch!

Kirstyn took over cleaning the bathrooms.  She used actual Clorox disinfecting wipes, but I really didn’t care what they used to “clean.”  I showered both Kirstyn and Cory with grateful kisses!  I couldn’t believe how attentive they were to my wishes, and willing to turn off their movie —  at their own initiative — to help make my birthday special.

My kids rock!

On my actual birthday, yesterday, my kids kept saying, “Happy Birthday, Mom!” all day long.  (Kirstyn even remembered first thing in the morning, with no “hints” from me!)  Every time I thanked them for the birthday wishes, Cameron said, “You’re welcome, Mom!  You’re welcome!”

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

One response »

Leave a Reply

