Sharing is for mommies too

Standard

I’ve always suspected this, and now I know it’s true:  I could use a nanny!

My sister Liz was here with me for a few days, and I got so much done!  I wish she didn’t live so far away.  Not just because the kids love her, and I can clean and organize while she’s here, but because I love her!  I wish I could brew a pot of coffee in the afternoon, call her up, and have her stop by for a mug and a chat.

My windows and curtains are sparkly clean now.  I love that the sunshine actually SHINES IN my windows in the fall!  While Liz was here I also washed down walls, ceiling fans, wood floors and woodwork, vacuumed the stairs, the upstairs floors (a rare feat!), window blinds and lampshades, cleaned out kitchen drawers, wiped down kitchen cabinets, and piled up stuff for the Goodwill.  I also had NO mountains of dishes or laundry, thanks to Liz!

Maybe I have a nesting addiction?  Megan is nineteen months old, and normally I would have a brand new baby by now.  So I don’t have a baby, but still have nesting impulses?  Crazy theory, nevermind.

Today I have dishes.  And laundry.  But I finally got to sit in my chair!!!  That birthday present papasan?  I set it up days ago, and even lit candles for a calm, relaxing atmosphere.  But every time I tried to sneak in my room, I got caught.  I did get serenaded by Moosies!  When she saw the candles, she started singing “Happy Birthday” to me.  Adorable!

This afternoon I brewed some tea and cuddled up in my chair while the kids watched “Snow White.”  I read five pages of a book, and dozed for maybe twenty minutes until Megan and Cameron both woke up crying.

Interruptions are my life!  I guess I don’t mind.  I do in the moment, yes!  I get frustrated when Derek brings me home a hot, steaming, DELICIOUS cup of coffee from Starbucks, but I have a toddler following my around demanding, “Mommy!  Mommy! Mommy! Mommy!”  And Derek can’t take her because the phone keeps ringing.  And he has to go work on the truck.  And CJ let the chickens out, and the rabbit is still lost, and Kbug let the door slam on Cboy’s face, and somebody doesn’t remember the other Hunsbergers’ phone number so they call US!  So I sink down on the floor with a bucket of blocks, and build towers for Moosies to knock over while I sip my coffee.

My heart softens as Moosies grins at me and says, “elephant?”

“Yeah!  That’s an elephant!”  I’m amazed that she remembers.  I show her more wooden block pictures, and she knows at least half of them!  And I remember that I’m her teacher, and she loves me, and we’re bonding, and tying heart strings, and I’ll be sad when she’s too old to follow me around and beg, “Hold me!”  So for now, I’ll just hold her tight.   I can share my papasan with a little girl who won’t let me go, and her big brother that still gets jealous.  I can stop blogging and finish at night, so I can read a book to a six-year-old daughter who’s wondering how much I love her.  And whether I’ll love her unconditionally, or be a fairweather mom. 

I have a lot of time to share right now, and children who still want me to share with them!  It won’t always be this way.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Living far away from family is hard…and not fun. I sympathize.

    I love the cushion on your chair!! I’ve never seen a printed one before…where do you find such a pretty thing?

    • Thanks! Pier 1 had the cusion. They have lots of colors, of course, but also different fabrics (including a scrubbable indoor/outdoor one!) and a few prints. I love it too. =)

Leave a Reply

