Breastmilk smoothies… or not

Standard

I thought I’d be lazy this morning.  Moosies has a cold, Kbug might be coming down with one, and CJ stayed home from church just because Daddy said so!  So, I was thinking we’d have a quiet, slow paced, hang-out-in-jammies Sunday morning.

Not so.

I had to pull out my vacuum first thing, because Moosies spilled her fishy crackers four times in twenty minutes.  Yeah, we had fishy crackers for breakfast.  And cold cereal.

I don’t remember why I opened my freezer, but I did.  I saw messily stuffed freezer-burned food, so I decided to clean out my freezer.  All this before I’d had my second cup of coffee!  As I was sorting through the freezer, the kids ate a second breakfast of half-eaten Gogurts, popsicles, and peaches from 2005.

My biggest find?  Frozen breastmilk.  I’d saved all the milk I pumped like crazy a year ago, when I was trying to keep up my milk supply for Moosies.  Quart bags, snack baggies, and bottles.  Did I throw it out?  Nope.  Not yet.  I worked my butt off for that milk!  I put it all back in the freezer.

Weird, I know!  (Doesn’t mean I’m a weirdo!)  You’re not even supposed to store frozen milk longer than six months, but I still couldn’t throw it out.  I thought about using some of it in a smoothie for lunch.  It’s SO high in immune boosting properties, and hey — my kids are sick!  (Don’t worry, I didn’t.)

Some moms share extra milk with friend’s babies. And if you don’t want to go the friend route, you can purchase milk from a milk bank, where the donors’ milk is tested and pasteurized.  It’s true!  It costs around $2.25/ounce though, plus $.25 shipping.  See?  I’m NOT a weirdo!  Not the only one.

Megan is old enough now to tell me when she wants to nurse, which IS a little weird to me.  I never thought we’d get this far, so I didn’t think to use a “code” word!  Let’s just say I will be super embarrassed if she ever says, “Nurse, Mommy!” out in public.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Aww…no need to feel embarrassed! Megan is still so little! I wish BE was still nursing! However he does get pumped milk, which I like for the same reason you mentioned- It’s full of immune boosting properties! 😀
    And who’s to know if you did sneak some into a smoothie for your other kiddos? Just saying… But, then again- I *am* one of the weird moms 😉

    I missed you this morning! I hope everyone is feeling better soon!

  2. Heather, I thought you guys were sick too! Were you at church?
    Haha, yeah — I should make a sneaky smoothie, huh. =)

  3. Yeah, we were(or BE was)…if you had asked me Friday, I would have told you we wouldn’t be there, but he was better Saturday! No fever, appetite was back, and he played all day happily! I was surprised!
    So yes, we went to church. (though we seriously considered staying home (we were all pretty tired! )

Leave a Reply

