Halloween Memories

Standard

Halloween wasn’t a holiday my family ever celebrated, but here are my top five memories:

  1. Turning off all the lights, pulling the shades down, and sitting in the darkness to watch a movie.  I felt like a spy!  (Or maybe someone hiding from the spies…)
  2. Telling my dad I had to “walk the dog,” and then hiding in the bushes with my siblings.  We giggled and watched the costumed kids walk by right in front of us.
  3. Getting a piece of candy from my Grandma’s leftover trick-or-treat stash, plus $5 in a Halloween card.
  4. Carving jack-o-lanterns when we were really little, and roasting the seeds we scooped out of the pumpkins.  I still love to roast and eat pumpkin seeds!
  5. Walking around the day after Halloween, looking for dropped candy in the street, and admiring the toilet-papered trees.  I always thought it would be fun to toilet paper a tree.  If I do, I’ll make sure I use one of my own maples!

I still don’t celebrate Halloween, but my kids know it’s a national holiday.  How can you escape it?  It’s EVERYWHERE!  My kids and I have had some good chats about why we don’t celebrate this holiday, and why their dad and I won’t let them go trick-or-treating or watch parades.  I know I can’t force my beliefs on my kids, so I hope my kids see my actions measure up to my words!  I mess up sometimes.

Who needs scary decorations with these faces:

And if the faces don’t scare you, he can always Kung Fu you, Cboy style…

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Halloween was always a big holiday for me..partly because it was my birthday. I will admit to toilet papering many trees in my day, it was A LOT of fun and no harm was ever done, I think it looks pretty that way personally. These days we don’t really celebrate it with the boys, but you are right, you can’t escape it. So we watch football and movies at Pepe’s house, we help him hand out candy and then we attack the stores after the holiday to get great fun costumes that I let the boys wear any day they want. (no scary costumes though). We have kind of made our own traditions and I’m good with that.
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

