Remembering Grampa… and turkey and football!

Standard

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  We had our big turkey dinner on Sunday, so tonight is just pizza.  I was thinking about shrimp and chicken, because that’s what Derek and I ate for Thanksgiving on our honeymoon.  (No way was I cooking a turkey on my honeymoon!)  But grocery stores are closed today, and I didn’t plan ahead… So pizza it is!

I miss my Grampa Crossland a little bit extra on Thanksgiving Day.  He died a few months before I got married, seven years ago.  (I walked down the aisle to bagpipes in his honor!)  I miss him because I remember the fun, delicious Thanksgivings spent with him and Grandma.  It really was “over the river and through the woods” to his house!  Yes, I know I’m mixing up the holiday and the grandparent gender, but you know what I mean!  It was magical.

On Thanksgiving morning we dressed up warm for the Massachusetts cold, and crashed the Northampton/South Hadley highschool football game.  I say “crashed,” because we always went at halftime so we could get in free!  Half of us cheered for Northampton, since Dad worked in Northampton and we also lived there for quite a while.   The other half of us cheered for South Hadley, since that’s where Mom grew up, went to high school and played in the marching band, and where Grampa and Grandma still lived.

Grampa cooked the turkey, mashed the potatoes (saved a few lumps for my dad), and probably most of the other cooking!  I ate one smelly ball, skipped the stuffing and cranberry sauce, enjoyed once-a-year green bean casserole, and pigged out on TURKEY!  My favorite was the drumstick.  My siblings and I watched lots of  TV at Grampa’s house, and pretended to read the funnies or a book when Dad poked his head in to check on us.  TV wasn’t allowed at our house!  Neither was beer, but Grampa let us try a sip.  It was disgusting.

After dinner we drove to the elementary school down the road and played football.  I was good, too!  I loved tackling the boys!  That was when Dad was young.  We stopped playing tackle football when he got old.  Or maybe it was because his daughters got old?  Either way, we switched to touch or flag football.  I miss it!

My scribbles of gratefulness over the past week are piling up:

37. childhood memories

38. grandparents

39. a dad that played football with us, or baseball, every Sunday for most of the year!

40. seven years of marriage

41. coffee already made when I stumble out to the kitchen…

42. …and a love note sitting on top of the coffee pot

43. extra sleep

44. my husband off work for a whole week

45. jammies on my one-year-old

46. fresh bread with butter and cinnamon sugar

47. a mother-in-law that makes the bread dough for me

48. extended family around the table

49. a baby that likes carrots!

50. a camera to capture the moment

51. warm days in late November

52. granny smith apples

53. apple pie and pumpkin pie

54. giggles

55. guardian angels to protect my children

56. my best childhood friend, visiting from Kazakhstan

57. time hanging out with her husband and two boys

58. a few precious hours of alone time with her

59. conversation that scrapes away all surface layers

60. laughter

61. prayer

62. coffee shops

63. a husband that willingly watches my four kids, so I can spend the evening with my friend

64. my husband’s generous heart

I know feelings are wishy-washy and not based on circumstances, but may you all feel as blessed as I feel today!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Yes, and I must add that growing up it was pie making day on Wednesday along with boiling lots of onions to make the dressing. Grandma was on this detail….I never did inherit her pie making skill….best apple pie yet!!!

Leave a Reply

