Crappy days are all in my head

Standard

Some days are just crap.  That’s what’s running through my head anyway, when things fall apart.  Like…

When CJ wakes up at 6:00am, and poops and pees in the basement, and knocks down a huge stack of 2×4’s, and opens the wood furnace door (again), and he and Moosies climb up on a desk, on a lamp, and fling shelf after shelf of my books to the floor, and Moosies gets stuck in the bathroom sink and burns herself with hot water, and the kids are whiny and grumpy, and I can’t ship them outside because it’s raining, and I don’t get much school done with Kbug…

My gut response is to say, “What a horrible day.  My life is awful right now.  Woe is me.”  (Take your pick!)

And I do, regretfully, give in to that human response.  Yesterday when Dee called me, I was in tears.  Over the phone I sobbed, “Homeschooling would be so much easier if I didn’t have three other kids to take care of!”

And then I watched a video about a mom and dad whose baby was diagnosed with a rare form of Leukemia.  They’re just waiting for him to die, maybe even before Christmas.  And I think about the unborn babies ripped out of this world every twenty seconds!  And I think about the moms in other countries, watching their kids slowly die from starvation or disease.  Stuff uncommon here in America.  Stuff I take for granted.  Just like I take for granted my healthy, happy children.

I have been wonderfully, extravagantly blessed!

So really, my day was anything BUT crappy!  It was beautiful, because it was full of life.  I can clean up poop.  I can pick up books.  (I can even buy new ones!)  I can sleep later.  I can fix burned hands, because I have salve, and bandaids, and aloe, and stacks of books about “how to.”

Ever since I started intentionally focusing on gratefulness, my “problems” fade away much quicker.  I have no real “problems!”  Only heart problems, of my own.

I’m grateful for…

65. healthy children

66. bandaids

67. Eden Salve

68. a three-year-old that wants to wear undies!

69. free lumber

70. a husband that goes dumpster-diving to get it

71. bookshelves hand-made by my husband

72. hundreds of books to fill the shelves up!

73. instant resources for injuries

74. a daughter that wants to read about Squanto

75. and also prays, “God, please help Mommy not to yell at us, and to love us and take care of us better”

76. snow flurries

77. warm coats, hats, and gloves

78. hot towels from the dryer!

79. tea parties, to relax and regroup with my kids

80. candles

81. a radio in the kitchen

82. a huge Christmas tree in the downtown circle

83. a Suburban to pile in when we need to drive around and look at lights

84. Christmas lights

85. the Light of the world

86. a Baby to save us all

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. You have those days too? I feel like I have been on a whole string of crap days! And my gratitude is getting a royal workout!

    Thanks for being real! And giving me something to smile at this morning!
    Gina

  2. Lots to look forward to for me! Thanks for stopping by my page and saying hi. We all definitely have a lot to be grateful for, and this is the perfect season to reflect on that. Blessings on your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

