Photo sessions are for laughing

Standard

We finally have a new family picture!  It’s been two years, believe it or not.  I realized this year that we had NO family picture with Moosies in it!  Christmas 2008 was the last one, me with a big baby belly.  (Funny thing, I saw that picture somewhere and thought, “Hmm, that’s a really cute sweater!  I wonder where it is…” and then hunted for it a while before I remembered that it was packed away in my maternity boxes!  Silly me.)

Family pictures are high stress situations for me.  I fret about what clothes to dress everyone in, will the clothes match, are they CLEAN, can they stay clean between dressing and picture-taking, and will we look cute enough?  And then when it’s done, I heave a big sigh of relief!  Even if it was a crazy photo shoot!  Only one or two out of a hundred pictures are perfect, but I love it that way.  We’re NOT perfect!  We’re a family.

So…

Here it is!  (The perfect one.)

My friend Mary stopped by our house last night to take the picture.  It was really nice not to have to worry about shoes and socks, coats and carseats, and a trip over to a photography studio!  I forgot to tell Dee that the rest of us would be barefoot…

Instead of just “cheese!”, we laughed our heads off saying, “cheeseboogers!” 

My kids made some awful funny faces…

…and CJ told Anna, “I love you too. GAS!”

I really wanted individual shots of the kids, but Moosies was a big stinker.  She decided she didn’t like Mary, and nothing we could bribe her with would make her sit or stand anywhere but in Mommy’s lap.  Mary took this shot first thing, before Moosies started her boycott…

After my wild monkeys were tucked in their beds, my sister and I stayed up late and talked.  Anna was only twelve when I got married and moved away, so I love it when she comes to my house to visit!  Yeah, we talk about deep, heavy stuff… but we also talk about boys, and make-up, and babies, and what we want to be when we grow up.  All the sister stuff I miss!

Merry Christmas to you!  May your homes be filled with as much love and giggles as ours is right now.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

  1. Aw, Ruth! You definitely have a way of painting normal life as beautiful all the time. 🙂

    My day yesterday consisted of broken dishes, cut fingers, cut lip and blood streaming into my mouth, poopy diapers right when I had to leave for somewhere, getting lost, driving my parent’s car up on a curb, bumping my head hard, and at that point, I decided that I needed to keep the rest of my day very simple. 🙂 Life is a combination of the good and the bad. We just have to keep the eternal perspective in it all and sometimes “remove ourselves” a little from the situation so we can see the humor even in these crazy and wild days.

    Enjoy your sister! Sounds delightful!

  2. Ruth,

    Got your comment on my blog today and was so glad to see you have a blog, too! I have some catching up to do as well…but probably less. After all, I don’t have four kids to keep me from blogging 🙂

    I knew you had one more little one, but I don’t have your last one’s birthday. Can you send it to me. After all, she needs to get birthday cards, too!

    ~ Melissa

  3. Those are great pictures! My favorite pictures are the ones that don’t take hours to prepare for. Its great to see a family that just wants to be happy and have fun together! No need to fake it! I have a friend that sent out Christmas cards with the nicest picture of her, her husband and their baby daughter and when I commented on how nice the pictures were she said “Oh! I was so tired of trying to pose her and make her look happy so we just threw out coats on went outside and snapped it!” The best pictures (like your lovely pictures) are the best because you are living!

Leave a Reply

