Chaos is nice, quiet is too

Standard

A late “Merry Christmas!” to everyone!  Christmas day at our house was loads of fun, and definitely noisy.  My family drove down from Massachusetts to spend almost a week with us, so my home was full to the brim!  I like it that way!

On Christmas morning, Cboy woke up at 6:00am and got sent back to bed with me.  As exciting as it sounds, I am not a fan of 6:00am present opening!  Maybe in the future, if my kids can have a pot of coffee ready and all I have to do is sit on the couch in a still-sleepy stupor.

We finally opened presents around 10:ooam, after pancakes made by Dee, a few pots of coffee, and a few showers too.  So much FUN!  My kids were happy with all their presents, but loved the snap bracelets and pop-up thingys they found in their stockings.

My husband bought me a grain mill for Christmas.  Surprise for sure!  He’d just bought me that expensive vacuum, plus we’d told each other, “Now, you’re not buying me anything this year, right?”  (You know how it goes!)  We lied.  Now I feel very spoiled,  and have no more excuse for not keeping fresh, homemade bread in the house.

Our new Wii was a big hit!  If my siblings weren’t beating each other up on Smash Brothers, we were watching movies, playing cards, or SHOPPING!  We actually did a lot of that, me and my sisters.  Sweet deals around Christmastime!  My kids loved walking in the woods with Bompa and the dogs, and I loved the ever-present pot of coffee.  Esther got a lot of ribbing about her and Ben’s texting habits, but that’s okay.  Every engaged couple deserves some hazing!

My sisters and I had a nice Starbucks chat on Monday night, before they left again, Esther for good this time.  Of course she and Ben will come visit us — a lot I hope! — but she’s getting married and everything changes when you get married.  Good changes, yes!  Oh my, yes!  But changes take adjustment, and it’s easy to fear change.

My house is half quiet again, with my family gone.  It’s never all quiet!  (How dull that would be.)  I always miss my family when they leave.  But now it’s just a normal, “I love them so much and can’t wait to see them again” missing.  When I first got married and moved eight hours away, I would get SO sad and depressed when my family drove away after a visit.  I would curl up on the couch and wonder, “What in the world was I thinking getting married?!”

Now, me and Dee, we enjoy being alone again after my family leaves.  We tuck the kids in bed and change into jammies, without worrying if it’s acceptable around-family attire.  We watch another “24” episode, without sitting on edge wondering if there’s a scene that makes family viewing uncomfortable.  And we leave our bedroom door open, without being in full view of anyone sitting at our diningroom table.

Having said all that, I CAN’T WAIT to go make my family’s house crazy in just three weeks!  My Montana brother and his family are spending a whole week in Massachusetts too, in the same house, so we are going to have some wild times!  I think it’s nice to go back and forth between chaos and quiet.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

4 responses »

  1. Sounds delightful, Ruth! We are also enjoying lots of company — though Jonathan really wants some quiet time. I feel badly for him, but I am not sure how to fit that in with company. I just vacuumed and am getting ready for our next round of company. Enjoy your New Year’s!

  2. Ummm…no excuses for fresh bread, I think not! Sanity and survival are the most important these days, then it’s a toss up with using the grain mill or vacuum. Hey, thanks for having us, I really enjoyed the extra sleep in the dormer nook. I too am really looking forward to having everyone under one roof again. We’ll work on the jammie thing. ♡

    • Mom, the day after you leave is always the hardest! I have to make my own coffee, feed my own kids, wash my own dishes, fold my own laundry, and replace all the fun playmates my kids have had with… just ME! I think it was a good day though. The kids and I played with some of the new Christmas presents, Wii, and we went up to my in-laws for supper and more presents.

      Thanks for all your help while you were here! Can’t wait to see everyone again soon! Besides having a fun big-kid reunion, it will be nice to watch all the the little cousins play. I love you!

  3. Just caught up on the last three posts…sounds like y’all had a great Christmas. We love our Wii, too! And I have one in Texas…but it’s not much fun to play alone. But, hey, I guess I have it if the Lord one day gives me a husband (that I can brag about) and kids (who will have all kinds of fun memories from the year). And until that day, God’s blessings are amazing! And I can always go to Indiana if I get REALLY lonesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

