A pile of favorites

Standard

I asked my kids what they loved most about last year.  The favorites are…

Swimming.  This was Kbug’s answer, and I’m not surprised!  She’s always loved the water, and this summer she learned to swim.  If we had a pool, she would have been in it every single day!  We tried to get over to friends’ pools or the creek as much as possible.  I had to be really brave as I watched my little girl jump off the diving board into the deep end of the pool, or step off into the “swimming hole” part of the creek!

Sledding.  Cboy choose the fast-paced, possibly full-contact, adrenaline rush activity as his favorite!  Last winter we had mountains of snow.  I think even more snow than some places in New England!  My kids are hoping for that much snow this year, but history so far shows that we only get heaps of snow every ten years.  Maybe this year we’ll change history?

Presents.  My CJ loved opening presents this year.  What kid doesn’t?  When I asked him about his favorite thing to do last year, CJ yelled, “PRESENTS!” with a huge grin on his face. I couldn’t help but think, “HE knows how to live in the moment.  How to be intentional about life!”  Things I want to learn.  He can’t remember what we did twelve months ago, or even six (it’s in the past — who cares?), but he knows that he loves what we’re doing right now.

When I asked Moosies about her favorite thing, she pointed her finger at me and started jabbering.  She does love to talk!  Her other favorite thing right now is the movie “Annie,” with “Shrek” a close second.

Dee said he loved our trip to Massachusetts in September; visiting my family, and hanging out in New York City for a day.  I treasure those trips too.  This year, I loved getting to know Ben better, who will officially be my brother-in-law in three weeks!  From today!  Wahoo!

My favorites?  All the times we were together as a family.  Vague?  Maybe.  Cliche?  No way!  As a mom, I hold tight to the times my family is together.  It won’t always be this way!  I, too, loved the swimming, the sledding, and the trip to Massachusetts.  Our trip to the zoo, trip out to Ohio to visit my Grandma Mary, beach weekend with Dee’s family, playing kickball with my kids, throwing baseballs to Cboy, reading stories, library time, starting school with Kbug… nothing big, but everything important.

I’m NOT making resolutions!  I never do.  But this year there’s a “one word” deal going around.  I first caught wind of it at my friend Courtney’s blog.  Could I sum up everything I wanted to do and be in 2011 with just one word?  Thinking… I’m thinking… Nope!  Not happening!  It’s a great idea, but I want to be many words.  My top ten would be:

Intentional. Joyful. Loving. Patient. Peaceful. Obedient. Merciful. Wise. Grateful. Compassionate.

Sort of like an Apples to Apples description?  And a lot like God.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Your favorite time being when the family is together is certainly not cliche. Cheryl and I like it when the family is together, too. We just had a daughter graduate college last year. She chose a school 12 hours away. She and her brother (in grad school) are on their way home now. Doesn’t happen often enough now, so we cherish it when it does. Good post. wb

Leave a Reply

