I do have bragging rights, after all!

Standard

If reading mushy stuff about my husband will make you queasy, stop reading.  Right now.  If you’re still reading, it’s not my fault that you get an earful of how wonderful my husband is!

You know how husbands are supposed to love their wives like Christ loves His bride, the Church?  Selflessly, unconditionally, sacrificially?  My husband makes it easy for me to catch a glimpse of Christ.

Last night I was complaining about a new mouth wrinkle.  “Mouth wrinkle” sounds kind of funny, and it took Dee a second to figure out what I meant.  I was fishing for affirmation, that I was still lovely and worth loving, and Dee never skipped a beat!  He cupped my face in his hands and kissed it all over.  He kept saying, “Mmm, that skin feels good… and that place feels good…”  Um, any more examples would be redundant.  He pulled me close and looked straight into my eyes as he said, “Babe, I married you knowing you would get old.  I can’t wait to get old with you!”

He tells me sweet things like that ALL the time!  One of my favorites ever was something recent.  He said, “Babe, you left me just enough heart to pump the blood through my body.”  Isn’t that adorable?  He’s so dramatic and corny, and I love it!

Those are all just words, not actions.  But God gives us sweet words, not just physical provision!

My man is definitely an action man.  (Yeah, I kind of made him sound like a super-hero there, ’cause he is.  A super-hero that also knows how to woo his girl with romantic words?  Oh yeah!  Move over, Jack Bauer.)  Dee rarely stops working!  One time he was telling his co-workers about plans for the weekend, or vacation time, and his boss said, “You’re really not the ‘sit-around’ type of guy, are you?”  He’s not.  If he’s not working on a project at our house, he’s helping his sisters at their houses, or doing something for his parents, or friends from church, or sometimes total strangers.  Dee is the kind of guy you want driving by if you have a flat tire.  Because he will stop!  And change your tire!

It’s little things, too, that make me fall in love every day.  Like letting me sleep in every single weekend, making me coffee, back rubs and foot rubs while we watch “24,” daily phone calls from work (just to say, “I love you!”), folding the covers back the way I like, picking up Legos, changing diapers and putting the kids to bed, setting out a fresh towel and washcloth for me, loading the dishwasher, keeping a fire going in the winter… *Sigh*

HE’S SO AWESOME!

Not awesome like God, not perfect like God (I’d have twice as many posts if I wrote about our fights!), but he’s perfect for me.  I can’t wait to spend 2011 with him!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

One response »

  1. Thanks Ruth! This was so uplifting because it made me think of all the ways that my man is wonderful too! And I take him for granted sometimes. It sounds like our husbands are cut out of the same bolt of cloth, but yours is perfect for you, and mine for me:).

Leave a Reply

