Can I have a snow day, please?

Standard

I haven’t thrown the Christmas tree out yet.  The kids keep adding ornaments…

I don’t know if they’re aiming for my Starbucks mug?  Right now there are more Nerf darts than traditional ornaments on my tree!

I’ve slowly starting ripping taking down Christmas decorations.  I’m ready for all the stuff to be back in my attic!  It’s just too much work to do it all at once.  My Willow Tree Nativity really needs to come down though.  It’s been on top of my entertainment center since LAST December!

Cboy turned five this week, and Kbug helped decorate his birthday cake.  Can you tell what the obsession is at our house?

We bought Cboy a guitar for his birthday, and I love listening to him “practice.”  I didn’t tell him yet that chicks dig guitar players.  He’ll figure it out soon enough!

Dee and I managed a date night this week.  (Thank you, God, for Grammies!)  We went grocery shopping at Sam’s Club, and ate chicken at Chick-Fil-A.  How “old-married-couple-date” is THAT?  We had fun though, all by ourselves!  And I don’t think we talked about poopy diapers at all.

It SNOWED today!  I tried sledding with the kids, but Moosies wasn’t thrilled with the cold.  I had her bundled up like an Eskimo too!  Maybe tomorrow after church, we can try again.  I love this stuff…

I’d love to wake up tomorrow and be snowed home from church!  I’d much rather sled, build a snowman, and drink hot chocolate than drive in the car for two and a half hours.  More snow, please!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

9 responses »

  1. We are right with you on the old-married-couple date! On New Year’s Eve we actually went to bed at 9:00! (Exhausted from a whole day of extended family gathering.) It used to bug me, but I guess I’m accepting where we are in life. And we still do have fun together – even if it looks like we are boring!
    Gina

  2. The nerf darts in the tree were cute. And you are never too old for a nerf gun! I even got one this year (from my daughter).

    Thanks for the nice comments on Family Fountain (What’s Special About Your Marriage). Good comments!

    Do you have to drive that far to church?

    wb

    • Yes, we do drive quite a bit every Sunday. Our church is an hour and ten minutes away! Most days I don’t mind the distance. My husband and I always get some quality chats in on our Sunday drives! And I have a long time to drink coffee, eat breakfast, and put on my make-up.

  3. haha! Our weekly date night is grocery shopping and dunkin’ donuts on the way to the bank! We don’t have kids yet, but the plan is to continue the tradition!

Leave a Reply

