Friends like these are rare…

Standard

Last week I had my first midwife visit.  Sometimes I think I get pregnant just so I can see Rosie for nine months!  I love my midwife.

Rosie picked up Baby’s heartbeat, at just ten weeks.  So nice to know that all this throwing-up, indigestion, exhaustion, and getting fat is not just my imagination!

When I got home, my house was sparkly clean.  A few weeks ago, four of my friends called me up and said they wanted to clean my house and make me a meal.  They picked the day I’d be out of the house for my midwife appointment.

Isn’t that just the nicest thing EVER?! 

Yeah, I thought so too.  I almost cried when I walked in the door and saw that they’d done EVERYTHING on my list, plus some.  Besides my dusting (whole house, including ceiling fans and woodwork), they mopped my floors, washed my dishes, folded my laundry, vacuumed my stairs, swept my front porch, and scrubbed my bathrooms.  All three bathrooms!

*Happy sigh…*

I was sooo wishing I had bubble bath, to pour right then and there in my nice clean bathtub.  It’s on my Walmart list.

Instead, I put half my kids in bed, shipped the other half outside, and sat on the couch soaking up the sunshine.  I could see it, streaming in my squeaky clean windows.  (My friends washed the windows and front door too!)

The dust is here again, with the never-ending laundry pile, the dirt, and the window smudges.  (Which I don’t mind so much…)  But every time I think about my lovely friends and their generous gift of time and elbow grease, I feel wrapped up in love all over again!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

7 responses »

  1. Ruth,

    What a lovely gift! I used to love to do things like that for friends – before I had children and began homeschooling. It’s time to get back to blessing someone again!

  2. You are so lucky to have friends that care. I did not realize how many people actually cared for me until I was hospitalized. My neighbors organized and took care of my elderly parents and my children while I was in the hospital that week. Can you imagine? Every time some says something bad about the times we are living in I remember my neighbors.

  3. Aww, what a nice article and a good reminder about the important things in life! Glad that all is going well with your pregnancy, how exciting to be able to “share” in the miracle with you!

    Aloha,

    Connie

Leave a Reply

