Potty hair is worse than potty mouth

Standard

So, CJ is potty-trained now.  He’s almost three and a half!  I guess some kids potty-train this late in the game, but if I had my druthers, it would be a lot sooner!  Diaper messes from a three-year-old butt are MESSY.

We tried, and threatened, and took privileges away — like not letting him have meatballs — hoping to “train” him sooner.  But my CJ, he’s a stubborn one.  He said, “I just won’t eat meatballs” and pooped in his diaper anyway.  And that’s pretty determined, seeing as meatballs are his favorite food!

One morning last week, at 6:30am, he came into my room and said, “I have to go pee.”  Ugh…  roll out of bed… Couldn’t you have decided to potty train yourself at a more decent hour?  He hasn’t had an accident since!  He wakes up dry every morning, and even impresses me with his iron bladder.

(My dad used to call me “Old Ironsides,” because I often refused to pee at rest stops on the way to Florida.  Maybe there’s a connection here?)

On the way to the airport Tuesday night, CJ announced, “I have to pee.”  We were on the beltway in Baltimore, already running on the late side to pick Anna up, so I said he had to wait.  (I’d put a diaper on him before we left, just in case!)  It was an hour later, at McDonald’s, that he finally had a chance to pee!  And he was still dry.  I don’t think any of my other kids could’ve held it that long!

Today I was wishing CJ wasn’t quite so excited about this potty thing.  I’d just wiped him after a poop, then left him to flush and wash by himself.  I went back to check on him when I realized he was still in the bathroom, and found his hair dripping wet!  I was hoping that it was just sink water, since all my kids are fond of sticking their heads under the faucet, but nope.  “I stuck my head in the potty!”, he said.  (Umm… he wanted to see where the poop was going?  Who knows.)  I asked him several times why his hair was wet, hoping he’d change his answer to, “I stuck my head under the sink“, but he never budged.  It was potty water.

He got a good scrubbing down in the tub!

This post is linked up to Weekend Bloggy Reading.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

9 responses »

  1. Ha ha!!! That is so gross ! 🙂 And just so you know you’re not alone, we have a 17 month old who considers the potty her own personal water fountain. We found her dunking a pacifier in pee-water. Ick!!! That pacifier got flushed. No amount of “no no”-ing changes her mind – the potty is for her to play in and drink from. And this is the girl who had E. coli 0157:H7 !

    • You can rig suction cups with a connector to keep the lid closed! They used to sell these (probably designed by a parent with a child who like to play in the potty!).

  2. Ruth,

    That’s great about CJ! Pray that Lukey finishes his potty-training soon. He is finally getting it and almost potty-trained. The big step for him was telling us when he had to go poopy. He finally does that, consistently every day now. So, we are just about ready to do the solo-underwear thing, and then we’ll call it a complete success. Can’t wait! How amazing to have none in diapers — right in time for our new baby. 🙂

  3. Oh, mercy! My younger daughter decided to treat the toilet like a pool once. Thankfully, it was clean. :s

    Thanks so much for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. 🙂 Have fun finding some new blog friends, and I hope you’ll visit Serenity Now again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

