Salsa-eating women

Standard

HAPPY INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY!

This year marks the 100th anniversary of Women’s Day’s.  It was first celebrated in Germany in 1911.  Useless trivia, I know.

I’m remembering today how FUN it was to be a woman in Moscow, Russia, on International Women’s Day!  Flowers, chocolate, tea parties, speeches… Russia puts on a big show for their women on March 8th.  I didn’t get all that stuff, but it was still fun to be a bystander!  I can’t remember how many March 8th’s I was there for.  Could have as many as three, but I left early one spring to come home and help with my Bomma, and I left early one spring, came home, and got married 8 months later!

Exactly a year after I left Moscow that last time, I remember thinking, “12 months ago, I was in Russia.  Now I’m married and 3 months pregnant!”  Crazy.  (Hope my math is right…)

Okay, I’m done reminiscing here!  I miss Russia, still think about Russia all the time, and even dream about Russia.  But I’m not discontent, by far!  Living overseas just grabs you and never lets you go.  Doesn’t mean I wish I was there instead of with my beautiful family.  BUT… My dad is planning on visiting Russia again someday, so maybe I could hitch a plane ride with him!

On a completely unrelated note, Moosies loves straight up salsa as much as I do.  I was sitting on the kitchen floor, eating fresh salsa with a spoon, when Moosies came over for a bite.  I couldn’t convince her that she wouldn’t like it, and put a bite in her mouth expecting to laugh at her horrified face.  She gulped it down and asked for more!  She ate half my bowl.  That’s my girl!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Ruth, I remember Women’s Day in Russia too. I remember the lovely fireworks. Yesterday, I was sorting through old pictures and had fun seeing how different you and I looked back then. I saw pictures from Women’s Day too. It was fun in Russia!

    That’s funny about the salsa. I can’t say I like it that much. 🙂

  2. Interesting information, thank you! My mom visited Russia once, a long time ago, and just loved it. Still has a beautiful fur hat and wrap that she purchased there. How cute a little Hawaiian lady in Russia! My kids loved salsa too, but then they also love raw fish…lol!

Leave a Reply

