Just a little weekend pruning.

Standard

My bunny is back in his cage.  He’s been running wild for a few months, fending for himself around the farm.  Doing quite well, too!  He ate the bottom branches off of a bunch of bushes and cypress trees, polished off the grass and weeds he could find in between snowstorms, hung out with the chickens to eat our food garbage, and ate a good-sized portion of Grammy’s blueberry bushes.

Yeah.

That was bad.

He was going to be rabbit stew if he wasn’t caught, so we borrowed some have-a-heart traps and finally caught him.  We’d tried the chasing thing many times!  Rabbits are fast, just so you know.

He looks so sad cooped up in a tiny cage, but I guess it’s better than getting shot.

I also pruned my trees this weekend.  Not all 36 of them!  My crabapples all got pruned, but the redbuds have to wait until after their flowering is done, in June.  I tackled most of my maples too, but realized I’d missed the “late winter” time of pruning.  The sugar sap was just gushing out with ever cut I made.  Kbug and I had fun licking trees!  I should probably wait until June to finish pruning. 

Maybe I’ll grab a ladder and at least finish the tops of the maples I started.  When I told Dee I pruned the maple trees as high as I could reach, he said, “Oh, so you mean you didn’t prune very much?”  Whatever, funny guy!  Mama’s have a long reach, especially with pruning shears.

I realized again how much I LOVE trees!  I liked trees when I was little, too.  I studied the leaves and barks of trees, looked trees up in tree books, and memorized different kinds of trees.

Trees were my favorite place to hang out!  I remember climbing trees with a book tucked in my pocket, so I could read up in my own leafy castle.  Growing up didn’t stop me either!  I climbed trees at night when I lived at an orphanage in Indianapolis.  I was 20.  Nobody knew about that until now.

Ahem.

So, it looks like June will be a busy month for me!  Bummer that it will be sweltering hot and I’ll be 7 months pregnant.  I predict a lot of swimming in my near future!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Yay! The bunny is safe! So glad you finally captured him! Can’t wait to see all your trees with leaves on them. Bet they’ll be beautiful (especially now that you’ve pruned them with your magical, encouraging, mommy touch).

Leave a Reply

