Mud pie gifts

Standard

Mud season is here.  Maybe more mud than usual?  We got hammered with rain last week, so rivers rose and roads overflowed.  There are new lakes where lakes shouldn’t be!

And my kids track all that mud through my house.

First, I want to clarify that I LOVE my job!  I’m happy being mom (five times now!), and love my life.  When I talk about the messes and all the work, I’m not complaining.  Just stating facts, and usually sharing how God threw down love and grace in the middle of my struggles.

My mud and dried-up chicken nugget littered floor is His holy ground!  And I love standing here.

So the mud.  Clumpy trails of it all over my house, and smeared into knees, hiding behind ears, and ground onto scalps of hair.  In the bathtub, sink, and toilet too!  I gave myself a talking to last week, after I groaned at the dirty footprints on my freshly cleaned (how often does that happen?) floor.  I said, “Self, just smile at the mud!”   It’s here to stay for a while.  Not long enough.

The muddy footprints will be gone one day, and the muddy grins as well.  Today, Cboy brought me my very first mud pie offering, with a stick candle in it.  I almost teared up!  How could a mother not treasure this gift?

I did finally get the mud and crumbs cleaned up, after the kids went to bed.  Earlier was just too busy!  Cboy kept asking, “Mom, will you come outside with us?”  So I did.  I pruned more trees, one of five clematis plants, knockout roses, and one butterfly bush from my collection.

The kids played around me as I worked, and dragged branches to the burn pit.  CJ, my worker, got his own pair of snips and “helped” me prune.  I got a lot done, but I wish I’d done less.  Cboy asked me to play tag, and I didn’t.  We ran out of time.

Cboy didn’t complain, didn’t even bring it up again, and was as full of smiles and kisses as ever.  His sweetness sometimes makes me cry.

Tag tomorrow?  I hope so.  I hope I don’t abuse my sweet boy’s cheerful acceptance and obedience.  “Mommy’s busy.  That’s just how it is.”   I hope I remember to spend time on just him, which will never be time wasted!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

  1. Great post! I love how you talk about standing on His holy ground… It’s so true. Miss you! Have a reminiscent fun time going to see the maple sugaring!

    • Anna, do you remember the old worship song, “Holy Ground?” One of my all-time favorites. Hey, soak up some sun for me, okay? Sounds like you have a little bit extra right now!

  2. I love your attitude! I hate washing dishes with a passion but I try to remind myself that it’s only by God’s grace that we had the food to eat, and only by his blessing that our table has enough family eating at it to fill up the sink 🙂

Leave a Reply

