Bloody feet, smashed amphibians… happy reading!

Standard

Did you know that the princess never kissed the frog?  Nope.  Only in Disney does the frog get kissed.  According to the Grimm brothers, the princess was a spoiled rotten brat who threw the frog against the wall in a fit of rage.  As the frog hit the wall, he turned into a prince, he married the princess, and they lived happily ever after.

WHAT?!

So the princess had no change of heart, and still got to be a spoiled brat, rewarded for her anger and deceit.

I tell you, those Grimm brothers are dark and morbid!  In Cinderella, the two wicked step-sisters cut off their toe and heel to fit the shoe.  There’s also a fox that must get his head and tail chopped off before he can turn back into a prince… a wolf that gets his stomach slit open and filled with rocks while he sleeps, so he falls into a well and drowns… and an evil maid who is placed naked in a spiked barrel and rolled around until she dies.

I’m reading Kbug my copy of Grimms Complete Fairy Tales for literature, maybe once or twice a week.  She loves it!  We’re only a smidgen of the way through its 628 pages.  Good summer reading!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

