My week by firsts

Standard

I’d never had my very own garden, but now I do!  This week we put peas and onions in the little plot Dee tilled up last fall.  I usually just help with my mother-in-law’s HUGE garden right next door, and do all my canning up there as well.  She’s still growing stuff for us this year, and canning stuff for us too.  (I don’t know how much help I’ll be with a brand new baby and two kids in school in August/September!)  But I wanted to try my hand at a small garden down here on our land.   We’ll also be planting lettuce, carrots, radishes, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, and I’m sure at least one watermelon plant.  My kids have big plans and a lot of enthusiasm for this garden!

First time since I’ve lived in Pennsylvania that we’ve had SNOW at the end of March!  I loved it.

First time we’ve had baby bunnies!   Eight of them!  This really threw us for a loop, since Pumpkin (our rabbit) has been caught and in her cage for a few weeks now.  Kbug found the babies a week ago Friday, when she went out to feed Pumpkin.  She saw a mound of rabbit fur in the nest, came inside and told me she thought there were baby rabbits.  I said, “No way, there can’t be!  That’s not even possible!”  But it is, and there are.  I peeked under the rabbit fur (mother rabbits pull out their own fur to make a nest for their kits), and saw two rat-looking pink things.  Yesterday we looked closer and discovered EIGHT baby bunnies!  At least they’re cute now, with some fur.  I know absolutely nothing about baby rabbits, so we’ve been using Google a lot!

Oh, and we’re NOT keeping them.  Does anyone want cute baby bunnies?

On Tuesday we went to Monkey Joe’s for the first time!  It was a birthday party for some friends, and between us five moms, there were eighteen kids.  I think the place emptied out when we left!  Has anyone else ever been to Monkey Joe’s?  It’s an indoor bounce place, and I LOVED letting the kids run and jump and slide for two hours!  Buy one/get one free coupons made the price a whole lot more doable, too.

I pulled my maternity clothes out for the first time this week.  I dumped all five boxes on my bed, tried on a few shirts, and then piled everything back up in a mountain in the corner.  The shirts were still a little baggy, so I just felt fat instead of pregnant.  I’ll just keep stuffing myself into regular T-shirts!

This week one of my kiddos dumped a fifty-five gallon drum filled with trash all over my basement.  There were a few light bulbs amidst the rubble, and these he smashed with a hammer.  That was a first for me!  I deal with a lot of messes, but this was a big one.  I was NOT a happy mama that day!

We watched “Tangled” for the first time on Tuesday, the day it was released.  We loved it!  My kids have been counting down the weeks and then the days until “Tangled” came out on DVD.  There were tears a few weeks ago, when they saw the movie advertised at Bluebox, assumed it was out, and then had their hopes crushed.  (“Frying pans.  Who knew, right?”  Yeah, I have most of the lines memorized by now…)

And sweetest of all, I felt my baby kick for the first time!   From on the outside of my tummy!  I’ve haven’t yet felt super connected to this newest tiny being.  Maybe because I’m so busy?  It’s not the same as my first, sitting around day-dreaming about motherhood.  I’m already IN motherhood full swing, and the thought of adding a fifth baby to this household is overwhelming!  But these tiny kicks… they’re precious.  And I know feeling my baby kick and flip for the next five months will make me fall in love like nothing else!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

2 responses »

  1. Aww, what a sweet post. My youngest daughter has five, her last is just 6 months old. Big job, but I just love her wonderfully busy household! These crazy years pass by so quickly, it is so great to have all of these wonderful memories…oh, and don’t worry, those naughty days..like the light bulb crushing thing… you will always have a chance to embarrass them in front of their friends when they are teenagers….LOL! XOXO Connie

Leave a Reply

