It’s okay to be spoiled every now and then, right?

Standard

It’s Monday!  Again!  Have I mentioned recently how much I love Mondays?  (Seriously, no sarcasm there.)  It’s a fresh start to the week, I’m usually more productive than on other days, and today happens to be GORGEOUS!  Eighty-nine degrees by 4:00pm!  I let my kids fill up the pool, put their bathing suits on, and get soaked.

(We’ve been going barefoot for weeks, so that’s nothing new.)

To anyone that missed me, would you believe that bunnies nibbled on my computer cord and fried my computer?  No?  Truth is, I just haven’t had internet connection for five days.  There’s a downside to bumming a Comcast connection off of my next-door in-laws!  Rain, hail, snow, wind, excessive heat (okay, made that one up)… it all bumps me off-line.

My family was here again!  Traveling back through on their way home from Florida.  All of them are ridiculously tan!  My youngest brother and sister were left here (on purpose), and my family will drive back down at Easter to spend the weekend with us and bring Anna and Andrew back home.

I’ve been spoiled this year, seeing my family so much!  I’ve been able to spend way more time with them, in only three months, than most people who live eight hours away from each other.  And, of course, spoiled with a sister that helps with my kids, dishes, laundry, and cooking.  I know it’s not real life, but I’m sure enjoying it!

My mom took me shopping at Motherhood while she was here, and bought me two maternity shirts and a maternity swimsuit.  I don’t care how many maternity clothes a girl has, new ones are always nice!  And my mom spoils me there. =)

I spoiled myself and bought an $80 pair of jeans at Banana Republic.  The jeans are AWESOME!  (And I only spent $20 on them, so it’s not as bad as it sounds.)  I will never again scoff at people who spend extra money on nice jeans.  They just feel so good!  I was having issues with my hips NOT fitting into jeans I already own.  I think after five pregnancies and four births, my hips might be stuck in the next size up for good.  Or maybe my clothes shrank, or it’s just because I’m pregnant… I can hope, right?

Oh, and in case it crossed anyone’s mind that it’s a little weird for a pregnant lady to be shopping at Banana Republic, I was just there for the pants.  I refuse to buy maternity pants!  I hate the way they look and feel.  So I just wear low-rise stuff all the way through my pregnancies.  There’s always a first time though, ’cause like I said, my body seems to be acting differently this time.  Like, maybe its age?!

Okay, so I just wrote a whole post about clothes and my pampered life.  Umm…

I’m going to go pull some weeds or fold laundry.  Just so you know I’m not a princess.  Or, if I am, I’m the kind that throws fits like the princess who threw the frog against the wall.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

8 responses »

  1. You need to mention that all of those items were on the sale rack of course! Motherhood can be a bit pricey in my opinion if you don’t find the deals.

    • Right, Mom! The sale rack, like you taught us. =) Or we find great deals on brand names at the Salvation Army and Goodwill. I have fond memories of going on Wednesdays for half-off day, and then watching you re-sell the kids’ clothes to make a profit. We dressed like rich people for a fraction of the cost! =)

  2. Your stories always bring a smile to my face, sounds so much like my family! Happy, happy…new maternity clothes…and on the sale rack. My daughter and I always laugh about how go into the nicest shops, but always make a bee line for the sale rack in the back…LOL! I agree with the low jeans! Keep smiling and having fun! Easter is such an awesome time of the year, makes you really count your blessings! Aloha, Connie

  3. We loved yesterday too! And were quite sad to wake up to rain! But we need rainy days as well. But there was just something so invigorating to this mom to have the children burn off their energy outside for a few hours (or all day)!
    Gina

  4. It is so fun to get a few new things. We had a mother/daughter tea on Sunday and I realized I have two dresses hanging in my closet that I’ve purchased in the last five years…

  5. Ruth, I have to say that I love my Gap maternity jeans! They are very flattering, and I bought them at a consignment store. 🙂 I can’t stand the way the regular jeans have buttons that cut into the lower section of my belly as it gets bigger. That’s great that you can do it though!

    I love sales, thrift stores where brand-name stuff can be bought! I just bought a bunch of Gymboree and Children’s Place girl stuff from a friend for a $1 a piece! Our little girl will be so spoiled! 🙂

    We loved Monday’s weather too! 🙂

  6. I do think there’s a temptation to buy cheap/on-sale clothes just because they’re cheap, ignoring little flaws or less than perfect fit. This is not to say one has to look perfect, but it’s nice to make an effort. I have about 5 pairs of jeans, and NONE of them fit me right. Sometimes it’s good to splurge on something that you KNOW you’ll use ( I need to learn how to do this), as opposed to buying something “so-so” thinking it might fit you later or you’ll somehow find the time to make alterations. So it’s awesome that you found your pair of dream jeans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

