Honeymoons never go out of style

Standard

Dee and I are home from our “honeymoon!”  On our way out the door Friday evening, Dee ran back into the house to grab my sunglasses.  Kbug teased, “Whatcha gettin’, Dad?  Stuff to mess around with on your honeymoon?”  Too adorable, that girl.  Who, by the way, fifteen minutes earlier was weeping her eyes out and clinging to me for dear life.  “But I don’t WANT you to go away, Mommy!”  Oh, the drama.

(My boys, they gave us kisses and ran back outside.)

Gettysburg was our first stop, and we checked in to a very nice motel on the outskirts of down-town.  (I tried to get Dee to stay at a motel that had a whole lobby full of navy men, but he wouldn’t do it.)  Such a beautiful town!  We live forty-five minutes way, and we’d never before wandered the streets of Gettysburg!   We ate a Mexican supper, poked around a bunch of shops, and sat in a french cafe to sip coffee and comment that the food was probably really good.

(Derek also drove me around the campus of Gettysburg College, and pointed out all the buildings where he delivered shingles for ABC.  He kind of did this the whole weekend as we drove around; pointed out roofs where he boomed shingles.  It was fun to see his “mark” all over Pennsylvania!)

Saturday was extremely rainy, as a majority of the east coast knows!  No flash floods or tornadoes though.   Just cozy wet weather.  We drove up to Lancaster and ate lunch at a friend’s joint, hit up Starbucks for some COFFEE, checked in to another motel, shopped at the outlets, got soaked ordering custard at Rita’s, drove around down-town Lancaster, and went to see “Hanna” at a Regal Cinema we finally found.  (Yay for locals and smartphones!)

Yesterday morning we slept in late, visited Starbucks again, did more outlet shopping, and then drove home on back roads.  Our kids barely gave us passing glances when we walked back in the door!  I had to drag hugs and kisses out of them.  I guess Anna and Andrew did a good job taking over for us!

Moosies, I must admit, was excited to see us.  She was sleeping when we got home, but had a huge grin on her face when she woke up and saw me.  I was snuggling with her on the couch, and asked, “So did you have a fun time with Anna?  Did you play with her?”  (Anna is her favorite person in the whole world beside me, and sometimes even that order is questionable!)  Moosies wrinkled her eyebrows and said, “No.  I didn’t.  Anna just put me in bed and I went to sleep.”  Haha!  She was so cutely serious that I had to laugh!  And come to find out, she was telling the truth.  There had been a couple of eating battles, once where she ended up without ice cream and once where she ended up in bed.  I can’t believe Moosies is old enough to “tell” on Anna!

You were awesome, by the way, sister dear!  Andrew too.  Thanks for letting Dee and I sneak away for another honeymoon!

(But the front-desk clerk at the Gettysburg motel said that she doesn’t want to see us back again next year.  She’s afraid we’ll tell her that we’re expecting baby #6!  She told us we don’t need to get away.  We need to stay home.)

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

7 responses »

  1. Looking forward to seeing all of you soon! Glad you had a good time. It will be nice to have Anna and Andrew home here again, the house is too empty without them.

  2. Such a great idea– to take another honeymoon every time you’re expecting! I wish there was a fun place to go around here… my creativity gets stretched to the max and still doesn’t hack it sometimes for good date nights. So glad you guys had a good time! (Who did the planning?)

    • Dee planned it, actually! Mostly because I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go. So he just decided, and it was perfect! =) (I had thought maybe DC, but I’m glad we didn’t end up there. The tornado watches were more severe towards DC, plus it was a federal holiday in DC on Saturday.) We hadn’t been away — just the two of us — for two and a half years, so it was REALLY nice!

  3. Thanks! So glad you and Derek could slip away and have some fun, despite the rain! Andrew and I had a blast with the kids.=) haha I hope I don’t take on the tittle of “mean auntie….”

  4. Good for you that you got away together, and it sounds like it was definitely a sweet time. Isn’t it amazing how when we make it a priority to spend time alone, God takes care of our kids just fine? 😉 Great testimony to share on Marriage Mondays this week!

    Blessings, Julie

  5. lol So jealous of your gettaway! I’m hoping we can work one in this summer. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I’m so happy for you. Baby #6 sounds next year is a great idea! 😉

  6. You’ve inspired me to renew my efforts for a second honeymoon this summer! Our 10th anniversary is coming up, and we’ve just GOT to get away – just the two of us, no kids!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

