Math and my daughter

Standard

Is it weird that Kbug both hates and loves math?  Isn’t math an all or nothing love or hate relationship?  To be fair, Kbug has never used the word “hate” about math.  I hated math, except consumer math, so maybe I’m putting words in her mouth.  She dislikes a lot of math though, to be sure!  She’ll sit for 45 minutes, half staring, half working on one page of addition/subtraction problems.  (I think this summer we’ll drill, drill, drill with flash cards, until she starts reciting math facts in her sleep!)

But, Kbug is good at math — especially practical math.  (Sure, all math is practical, whatever.)   She begs to do pages out of a time/money math book I’d bought for summer work.  Yesterday, out of the blue, she asked, “Mom, 800 cents is $8.00, right?”

Umm… I had to pause for a quick second while I calculated.  “Yes, it is.  Good job!”

“And 1,000 cents would be $10.00.”

Right again!  And then she went into this long spiel about how she arrived at her conclusion.  I can’t remember exactly what she said, but it was impressive!

Kbug is always coming up with word problems like, “I got 10 eggs from the chickens today.  6 of them were from the new chickens, so that means 4 of them were from the old chickens.”  Yep.  You go, girl.

Me, I was in love with diagramming sentences and conjugating verbs when I was in school.  (Well, maybe not at 6 years old!)  I’m pretty sure I never tried to figure out exactly how many cents were in my $10.00.  I just knew that $10.00 could buy me a lot of candy at the Williamsburg General Store!  (‘Cause you know, candy was just pennies when I was 6 years old.)  Or half of a Breyer Horse at a hobby store.

So yesterday, listening to Kbug rattle off made-up math problems, I felt good.  It was encouraging to know that my kids CAN thrive in school at home!  And it’s fun, too (most days), re-discovering all these fascinating facts about the world, history, nature…  (Um, did anyone notice that I didn’t mention math?)

Happy Teacher Appreciation Day to me!  And to all my other mom friends out there.  Because it doesn’t really matter if your kids are homeschooled, in public school, or not yet of “official” school age.  YOU are teaching your kids, and it’s a great job!

P.S.  Kbug wants to hold a yard sale.  I’m thinking “yes,” even though that’s a lot of work for me too! It would be great use of her social, organizational, and math skills.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

  1. That sounds so familiar! Tj couldn’t manage to add the tens place or count by tens so he skipped to the money section where he was adding and manipulating money like a pro! Something about playing with money makes math more interesting…. 😉 I love the flexibility of homeschooling.

  2. I was exactly the same way, didn’t love math, but it came naturally to me…also LOVED word problems, kbug sounds like a resolution finder..good for her!
    And good for you as a home schooling mom. Not easy, a lot of work, but worth every bit of energy. I homeschooled two of my kids…success stories! Blessings on you! Connie

  3. Your Kbug sounds like such a smart little girl.

    We us public school, but my 7-year-old daughter also isn’t very fond of doing anything that requires sitting. For her, she is much more motivated when I make it a race and time her.

    I like the idea of incorporating math into fun things, like a yard sale. I definitely could make an effort to do more of that.

    Happy Teacher Appreciation week!

Leave a Reply

