Introducing… Hashbrowns!

Standard

I took our Suburban to get inspected this week.  It failed.  Our minivan and truck failed too, last month.  Which really stinks, because Dee keeps all of our vehicles in tip-top shape!  (And always uses top-of-the-line parts and products.)  Like, if one tire needs to be replaced, he replaces them all.  Or if he’s got a vehicle torn apart for one thing, he goes ahead and does more than necessary just because prevention is best and he doesn’t like putting old with new.  Uh… I’d list more specific examples, but I’m a newbie at mechanic lingo!

(It used to bug me, all this money being spent on “unnecessary” car parts.  I think because my dad was one of those “don’t-fix-it-’til-it’s-broken” type of men.  So I’d resent Dee spending more money than I thought he should!  Needless to say, this caused some issues early in our marriage… but that’s another story.  And I’m older and wiser now.  For the most part.)

When I took the truck to get inspected, back in March, I took no kids.  Failed.  Second inspection, one kid.  Failed again.  I took all four kids with me this time, hoping we’d pass on compassion alone.  Nope!  But Dee said that the brake pads (which got us flunked) were worn almost completely down.  So, flunking us was definitely wise, and a safer choice than pity!

Oh, and this guy that inspects our vehicles, David — he’s great!  He lets Dee do all the repair work on the vehicles, and doesn’t even charge us for a second inspection.  He just takes our word that the work is done, and slaps a new sticker on our windshield.  So I’m totally not complaining!  He’s thorough, honest, trustworthy, trusting, and kind.  We’ll stay loyal even if we do get a “FAILED” stamp every spring.  Three times in a row.

After the inspection, I introduced my kids to McDonald’s hash browns.  None of my kids had ever had a Micky-D’s hash brown before, and we PIGGED OUT on that hot, greasy, oh-so-bad-for-you potato yumminess!

I’m not a purist mom, by the way.  It’s just that McDonald’s doesn’t serve breakfast past 11:00am.  And I am rarely in the car with all my kids before 11:00am!  Do you know how long it takes to dress and feed all my children?  Several times a morning?  And now we have school thrown into that mix.  KUDOS to all you moms who get your kids up and dressed and fed and on a bus by 8:30am — or earlier!  Everyone’s still in jammies at that time in our house, and my hands are wrapped around a mug of coffee.  And I’m trying to make my brain wake up so I can feed my kids breakfast.  Something besides the crackers and granola bars they’ve been snacking on already…

Oh, and my Suburban inspection was at 9:00am.  NOW do you understand why we went to McDonald’s?  There was no way I was going to get all four kids up and dressed and fed and out the door and buckled into the correct car seats with diaper bag and water… All before 8:40am.  (I’m lucky everyone had shoes!)  So, McDonald’s it was.  I did manage to grab some raw almonds and plain rice cakes to tide the kids over until after the inspection.  That evened out our breakfast into a nice, balanced meal — don’t you think?  Oh, and we got yogurt/fruit parfaits too!  Psshh.  Completely healthy.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

One response »

  1. I just love your posts, brings back so many memories! Glad you got new brake pads and Mickey D hash browns..LOL!
    A wonderful mother’s day to you!
    Aloha~Connie

Leave a Reply

