Tornados, green stuff, and babies

Standard

…from last Thursday, May 19…

A tornado touched down a few miles from us the other night.  So freaky!  I’d let Kbug watch “Twister” earlier in the day, for a school movie.  Not smart, considering the impending weather!  I had NO IDEA we were getting a tornado that night!  She was terrified when Dee announced that a friend texted, saying a tornado had been spotted.  I managed to calm her down though, and let her stay up until we were sure the tornado was long past us.

The tornado didn’t do much damage, if I’m recalling the news correctly.  Just some ripped off tree branches and house siding, maybe a flipped trailer… stuff like that.

But doesn’t it look like a mild tornado could’ve touched down in our yard?

Nope.  That was just me, pruning ferociously.  I spent a good six hours outside yesterday, in between rain showers, pruning and weeding in my flower beds.  Now if it would just stop raining so I can plant my flowers in something besides mud.

BUT.  This is what our yard looked like last year…

…so I’m not really going to wish the rain away.  Bring it on!

My clematis vines are BEAUTIFUL this year, climbing up that pretty arbor some hunky trucker welded for me…

 And since I’m posting pictures…

This is what Baby looks like these days!  I’m 25 weeks along, with 15 weeks to go.  Unless this baby decides to follow in half of his siblings’ footsteps, and arrive two weeks late!  (Please don’t, Baby.)

And… my still-baby for these next 15 weeks…

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Ruth,

    You are so small — barely even look pregnant. I definitely was bigger than you at that stage. 🙂

  2. What are the odds a tornado would be near after watching that movie! As a kid growing up in Iowa, I use to get so excited when there were tornadoes. We drove right by one once and I was thrilled. Maybe I should have been a storm chaser. Though, I would be scared to death these days.

    I don’t know if you feel this way, but your perfectly round baby belly is adorable. Hopefully this one will be right on time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

