Resolved. Until next time.

Standard

Thanks everyone, for your encouraging words!  I teared up once or twice, reading your sweet comments.  Told you my pregnancy hormones are raging.  I think I read somewhere that chocolate helps with that… Nah.  I made that up!

So me and the man, we did finally work things out.  After another “episode” shall we say?  Maybe it was because he didn’t walk through the door, like I planned.  I met him at a park, with the kids and McDonald’s junk food in tow.  We got to talking, while the kids played, and all the hurt came up again.  Yeah, he had some too.

BUT after the kids were in bed, we talked again.  I almost giggled at how “Wifey, this is how it is!” the whole talking time felt!  We resolved stuff, and kissed and made out up.  The end.

I wish!  I know there will be more of these marriage issues.  (Why can’t the marriage books be wrong for once?!  Wait, wait — I know.  Because they’re all based on the fact that our sinful, un-dead, old self will keep popping up.)  But I know God’s grace and glory was shining by the end of the evening, and that’s what our marriage is about.  It’s about God’s glory.

Me and the kids, we’re fine too!  Sure, there were some more lying/hitting/snarky/smashing/whatever-you-can-think-of problems.  But there was even more pure, giddy love flying around!  Literally.  My wild banshees.  (I’ve heard that wild banshees are technically “screaming women,” but you know what I mean.)

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Ruth,

    Isn’t so good that God does use imperfect people. Because we are so imperfect, His grace and power can shine even clearer as it transforms our ugliness into something beautiful!

    Give those kiddoes hugs for us.

    Love,
    Amy

  2. Ah, on being a woman, this is what sisterhood is all about! You are so filled with HIS joy, so HIS strength will abound in you..enjoy this journey…xoxo Connie

  3. I love your honesty! It makes me want to be more honest. With myself, with my husband, on my blog… and I love your descriptions of your days with your kids, Ruth, because yours beat mine hands down! Maybe it’s because you have twice (more than twice!) as many kids as I do? But seriously, any time I want to know: a) how good I have it or b) what I might have to look forward to, I visit your oh-so-honest-and-deeply-encouraging, makes-me-love-you-so-much, can’t-believe-I’ve-gotten-to-be-your-friend-for-20+-years blog… and I feel so blessed. Thank you, my sweet friend!

    And yes, you are a FABULOUS Mom. And yes, this too shall pass… more quickly than we can believe or imagine!

    Love,
    Carolyn

Leave a Reply

