I’m not fighting the water war

Standard

I just realized that tapping on the window and shaking my head, mouthing, “No water!” will be a losing battle.  Every time.  Even if I go outside and speak right into the ears, I’ll be ignored.  So I’m going to make one of those “pick your battle” decisions and back down from this water fight.

So what if the entire side of the house gets sprayed while the kids are “getting a drink.”  Free siding wash!

When kids spray the cars, I’ll just hand them soap and sponges too.

If my baby flowers die because they get soaked and then fried by the sun, oh well.  They’re just flowers, and they’ll be dead by the end of summer anyway.

If the kids take sips from the kitty bowl, um… remember what I said about germs?  Good stuff.

If the yard turns to mud puddles, stomp away!  I will choose to be grateful that I’m not Ma Ingalls, washing everything by hand.

And if the laundry on the line gets soaked, it’ll dry.  Plus, I’ll recruit free help to teach about wise choices.

The cats, they’ll dry too.

The kids (that don’t have the hose), they won’t melt.  And it will toughen them up and teach them to kick the “victim mentality” now.

Water down the slides, now that’s just FUN!

Mud balls, mud pies, mud soup, mud baths, it’s all good.

Then there’s all the water my children play with IN the house!  Thinking, thinking… Okay, I’m done being positive for today.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

9 responses »

  1. Love it!!! My girls found a huge mud puddle on the two track that runs beside our house last summer. The older ones came back and got the little two….about a 1/2 hour later, they all came back COVERED head to toe in mud. Thing I didn’t know was that it was clay mud….ugggghhhhhhhhh…..we played in the hose that night, too! Then for an hour in the tub and the clothes had to be thrown away. BUT…..I got some super cute pictures :o) They are only little once, I don’t sweat the little stuff like that either!!!

  2. I can’t believe that you can remain so calm in the face of such disaster! It’s absolutely imperative that each child has his or her own hose! Take that money you were planning to spend on the baby flowers (they will be dead by the end of the summer anyway…) and buy a couple more hoses! LOL
    Sandy
    http://www.twelvemakesadozen.blogspot.com

  3. Hmm……I do believe that we have actual footage of a certain granddaughter chasing her Grandpa around the yard with a hose! We won’t mention any names!☺

  4. Ha ha :o) When we visited your grandmother she told us that story that your mom mentioned above ;o)

    Zeva jumped in a mud puddle today and kicked water all over Steve’s pant leg as we were walking to the store today after church… lol ;o)

Leave a Reply

