My own little celebrities! (And no, this fifth one is not due soon.)

Standard

So, the Echo Pilot in Greencastle did publish that picture of my kids.  Here’s the link…

http://www.echo-pilot.com/highlight/x556419338/Wavin-the-flag?photo=0

If you notice the weed on the ground in the picture, that was the work of my kids.  Guess I’ve trained them well!  They were pulling up weeds in the flower beds around town.  It’s a habit.  I remember one time when we went to eat out at Tony’s, they stopped to pull up weeds in front of the pizzeria.  Cboy was especially appalled at the state of their flower beds, and I had to assure him that Tony’s would pay someone to pull up the weeds!  We could just go eat pizza.

You might also notice, in this picture, that only one of Kbug’s eyes is visible.  She needs a haircut!  Bad!  Maybe I’ll bring clippers to Ohio and give all the kids haircuts.  (Ha.  On vacation?  Probably not!)

I went shopping this morning to buy food for our Ohio trip.  (We leave tomorrow.  My kids have never been so eager to go to bed!)  We always bring lots and lots, and lots and LOTS of food on car trips.  Survival at all costs!  Gummy bears and chocolate bars help us all feel better.

The cashier at Martin’s Bulk Foods gave me my first pregnancy comment to laugh about.  (Or groan, whichever mood strikes me!)  As she was ringing up my stock-pile of food, she said, “If you don’t mind me saying so, you look just as uncomfortable as my daughter.”  Come to find out, her daughter is being induced tomorrow.  I’m thinking, “Lady, I still have three whole months to go!”  And then she told me that this is technically her daughter’s second child.   Her daughter’s first baby was delivered stillborn at 36 weeks.  Why do people tell terrible, sad stories to pregnant women?  Doesn’t she know that moms worry more the more pregnancies they have?  Not less?  But she was just making polite conversation, so I smiled and nodded and asked pertinent questions.  Grandma’s can’t help talking about children and grandchildren!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

11 responses »

  1. I love your blog, Ruth! Miss you so much and wish we could meet each others’ families. I’m sure between my four and your four, we’d have our hands royally full but what better reason to down chocolate covered coffee beans and sip on coffee. 🙂

    • Miss you too, Kelly! Oh, we’d have so much fun together! California is on my list of places to visit. We might be old and gray, but one day maybe we can sit and drink coffee together, and laugh about all the crazy stunts our kids pulled to give us the gray hair. =)

  2. Yikes, I’m a Nanna…but I would never mention that to an expectant mother! Its like how people start telling you about plane crashes right before you are ready to fly away on vacation….duh!

    Anyway, your munchkins are just adorable…such happy kid faces!
    Have a fun, safe and wonderful trip!
    xoxox Connie

  3. Ruth,
    I know what you mean about the negative comments. I had people tell me such strange things. I won’t repeat them here : ) Now, I have to remember to NOT repeat them as I could have to you. I was a worry wart with all three pregnancies – so I agree. It doesn’t go away. We just need to keep giving those thoughts to God. On the other hand, how many people have been told horrible outcome by their docs in an effort to have them abort. (Possible medical problem which wasn’t.) They committed those fears to God and the baby was just fine. He knows you, your family and your baby. And He loves you all. I’ll pray that you worry less and less. God bless you, Ruth!

  4. Love the newspaper picture!

    I think I know the lady you talked to at Martin’s. It is totally like her to make a comment like that. I’m sure she just wasn’t thinking how it would make you feel. Her daughter is a friend of mine. I’m so glad God is giving them another baby since they have been through SO much. Being with people like her have given me a whole new appreciation for my children.

    Praying that the Lord will give you rest and peace – and a healthy baby.
    Gina

  5. Have a fabulous vacation!!!

    Your kids are so cute! Total country munchkins- love it!!!!!! They are going to have such amazing childhood memories.

    Oh my, I do not know WHY people tell pregnant women horrible stories. Yikes!

  6. Very cute picture of the kids! Have a great time in Ohio! I head for NH in less than two weeks – and can’t wait!!!!

  7. I love the picture! I like to pull weeds when I’m out too, just not my own!

    Have fun on your trip. I had to stop taking “good” snack on our car trips because I’m the one that tends to eat most of them. So, apples it is! My kids aren’t too excited about that.

Leave a Reply

