Body pillows and green cupcakes

Standard

Along with my laptop, I also bought two laundry baskets and a fluffy green body pillow last night.  I’m excited about those purchases too!  (Can you tell I haven’t been shopping for a while?)  I’ve been carrying whole loads of laundry outside to the line with my bare arms.  Those laundry baskets are my new best friend.

And the body pillow?  I’ve been dreaming of a body pillow since I first got pregnant seven years ago, and realized that adding 25 pounds to your front side makes your back ache and your sleep illusive.  Every time I mentioned how nice it would be to curl up around a body pillow, Dee would say, “But Baby, I’ll be your body pillow!”  It’s just NOT the same.  Not even close.  So, finally, five pregnancies later, I broke down and spent $11.99 at Ross’ on a body pillow. I slept GOOD last night!  Dee may become jealous of that pillow and me, but I don’t care.  It’s soooo perfect!

While Dee and I were out shopping, the boys fell off the back of the dumpy trailer.  They were out helping Grammy and Pappy mulch the baby raspberry plants, and riding on top of a full load of mulch.  No broken bones or anything, but CJ hurt his hand and cried for half an hour.  When I asked him about it this morning, and mentioned how Cboy must not have been hurt as bad, CJ said, “Yeah, I cried better than him.”

It’s another holiday!  Dee plans on cranking out the hours in the basement, trying to get drywall hung and possibly the walls sanded.  We spent $600 dollars at Lowe’s last night, and with that bill plus my Best Buy bill (where I also bought a camera), we should really be more depressed than happy!  But I’m definitely HAPPY!

We’re going to watch fireworks too, and go swimming, and rent movies, and eat pizza, ice cream, watermelon, pickles and banana peppers, and whatever else we feel like eating and doing!

I tried to make festive, blue cupcakes this morning, to kick of the 4th of July weekend.  The plan was to ice them white and red for a patriotic dessert.  But, blue food coloring in yellow cake mix turns green.  (Duh, right?  Any kindergartener knows this!)  And the more blue you add, the darker green it turns.  So, we’ll be eating green cupcakes with white and red icing!  But after all, green is my favorite color, so that’s okay.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

6 responses »

  1. Sounds marvelous, friend! We are inviting my dad over (since my mom is working), making S’mores, playing games, hopefully going paddle-boating at a local lake, and simply relaxing. Jonathan so needs to finally get better so I plan to make sure he gets lots of time to rest. I am not sure if he will actually do that. 🙂

  2. Haha, green cupcakes! Awesome! 🙂 I’m definitely going to get a body pillow with my next pregnancy…I just hope all three of us fit on our full-size bed. 😉

  3. I LOVE my body pillow. It completely took away my back pain. My hubby had the same response as yours but after I had to go out to the recliner to get some sleep, he surprised me with buying a body pillow for me! It has been a close companion now for over five years!
    Gina

  4. Good girl, making the right investment choices! Body pillows, good laundry baskets and food that makes everyone smile! Glad there were no broken bones! My son (now grown up) did the same thing out of the back of our truck when clearing a piece of land…we still laugh about it!
    Have a wonderful fourth…so glad we’re free! Aloha, Connie

Leave a Reply

