Mommies need push-up popsicles too.

Standard

Today I scrubbed down the vinyl seats in my Suburban with a toothbrush.  Not all of them, and no, not extreme nesting.  Just the parts of seat and floor that Kbug hit with her vomit.

It was just one of those days!

One of my boys woke up with pee-soaked sheets, which isn’t really a big deal, but sometimes things like that set the tone for the day.  It shouldn’t, I know.

Our library had a kids program at 10:00am, so things were rushed getting everyone out the door.  (We go every Tuesday, and we have yet to make it on time!)  I don’t like rushing.  And I was tired from waking up at 4:00am with  CJ, who was coughing and crying about his sore throat.  He only wants Daddy when he’s sick, so I moved to the couch and let him take my spot in bed.

Since I was already out in the kitchen/living room, I got up at 6:00am to pack Dee’s lunch.  I never do this anymore, except on rare occasions, so I got extra kisses from Dee!  That’s always nice.  Not that he’s sparing with his kisses, ever…

The library program on Tuesdays is for 6-8 year olds, so Moosies and CJ always get bored.  Then I have to entertain them for 45 minutes upstairs while we wait for Kbug and Cboy to finish up with the big kids.  All of my kids love books, but 45 minutes in the library is a LONG time for my little guys.  Then when we were ready to check out books and leave, the computers were extremely sluggish.  Apparently, because all the libraries were closed July 4th, the whole integrated library system got whammed July 5th!  Happens after every holiday.  I’m going to remember that!  But the 15 people stacked up in line behind us were very pleasant, and my kids stuck with me (instead of running the book isles) and acted very well-mannered.  I think they were hoping for candy.

On the way home from the library is when Kbug threw up.  I’m hoping it was just from the sweltering heat, and trying to read in the car.  I really don’t want to deal with a family-wide stomach bug right now!

I had told the kids we’d try to go swimming after lunch, before naps, but by the time I got the throw-up mess cleaned up and fed the kids lunch, it was time for naps.  Because Mommy said so, that’s why.

My lunch, while I banished the kids upstairs for 20 minutes, was a package of pizza Combos and a push-up popsicle.  I even got to read 2 pages of a new book I snagged at the library.  (If you’ve never thought this through, let me just explain that it is really, really hard to browse for “Mommy books” while keeping track of a 3-year-old and a 2-year-old at the library.  Make that impossible.  So I just grabbed five books off the shelf closest to me, and hoped they were good ones.)

Everyone but Kbug took naps after lunch.  (And everyone but me had a healthy lunch of french toast, made with whole wheat bread and our farm-fresh eggs!)  I stuck her out on the couch with a book on tape, and told her she could turn a movie on when “Pinocchio” was done.  Besides the physical disasters of pee and throw-up, I was tired from all the fighting and whining and lying that happened today.   (And, I’m 32 weeks pregnant and it’s HOT and my hormones haven’t gone anywhere!)  The pee and stuff I can handle, it’s the soul issues that wear me out.  I’m not sure what happened to my normally a-lot-sweeter children!  I felt like asking Dee to watch the kids when he got home from work, so I could escape for a little while.  BUT, I knew the kids and I needed to do something fun together, so we drove to the creek after naps and played in the water.  Built rocks dams, pretended we were beavers, found “dragon eggs” and then slayed the dragons that hatched, watched fishermen… and then CJ had to go poop.  No way was I dragging all four kids into the gas station rest room, so we went home.  Where CJ couldn’t get any poop out, but oh well!  Dee brought Sam’s Club pizza home, bounced with the kids on the trampoline, and helped me tuck all the kiddos in bed.  Mmmmhmmm!  My hero.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

7 responses »

  1. Don’t know why but your post was just what I needed to read right now. I’m sorry you ended up cleaning up both ends of human excrement, but just from the way you write about your family you can tell you love them all. So glad there are moms like you in this world – best of luck with everything and congratulations on #5!

  2. Oh, all 32 week pregnant women should have a nanny! 🙂 I can so relate to your post. I have just one of those days too often.

    I love that you still played with them at the end of the day even though you were exhausted. I may have left the kids with my husband and headed back to the library all by myself.

  3. Ruth, you’re such a great mom. If it makes you feel better my day was similar, starting with the wet bed but I didn’t get the vomit. Instead of going to the library we went to the grocery store, and instead of a pop I had an ice cold root beer! You were better than me though, I let my kids watch a movie while I sat on an icepack.. Can’t wait to see you and your beautiful belly! 🙂 Melanie

  4. I’m so proud of you Ruth for choosing quality time with all of them after naps instead of conking out… (I can’t even imagine fielding 4 kids and being 32 weeks pregnant!) It’s choices like that that will make us look back on our kids little days and be thankful we chose them instead of ___ (anything else)! Way to go!

    Love,
    Carolyn

  5. I love reading your posts as they sound a lot like me and my kids! I hadn’t gone to the library after Nathaniel started walking unless I had someone with me. My girls would usually stick close to me while I picked books out from them, but Nathaniel would go everywhere and everywhere fast!! I just recently went again because my friend was with me and good thing too! He was everywhere and there would be no way I could even get any kids books if I didn’t have someone to keep an eye on him while I looked at the books!
    Abigail gets car sick if she reads in the car-especially since she’s in the back seat! we don’t drive the back roads to my mom’s house any more-just too windy for her stomach.
    We bought a pool back in march, and haven’t set it up yet!!! We need sand to put under it and it hasn’t been done yet! Today was sooo hot and humid I was really wishing it was up!
    My kids have been really crabby lately too-maybe it’s in the air! I was thinking part of it was from the different stuff we’ve been doing, holidays, and they are being babysat a lot more than normal as we are house hunting. But who knows what it’s from!
    Hope you have a nice cool day today!

Leave a Reply

