Raising bookworms

Standard

All four of my kids are signed up for the summer reading program at our local library.  I am too, but I don’t get the same cool prizes that the kids do!   The kids get 1 point for every 30 pages, or 1 point for every un-numbered picture book.  They can pick up their points (printed on brightly colored, money-like pieces of paper) once a week, and then in August all the kids cash their points in for those cool prizes I mentioned.

All of my kids love books, but since Kbug can read by herself now, she’s really racking up the book points!  I think she has 121 points so far.  We are totally going to wipe out the prize table in August.  Heehee!  This is bringing back childhood memories.  I was a huge bookworm when I was little.  I’d sneak books into the bathroom, read under the covers at night, bring books in the car, and read pretty much every chance I got.  I’d read instead of doing chores or schoolwork too, so I vexed my mother quite a bit!  And if I wasn’t reading, I was petting my chickens, or daydreaming outside.  Kbug takes after me in her chicken-loving, daydreaming ways too!  I think my daughter is payback.  I don’t mean that in a negative way, just that I see so much of myself in my oldest daughter.  Hopefully that means I’ll be quick to remember what it was like when I was 6, or 10, or 17… and be quick to relate to my daughter.

Tangents, tangents…

So when I was younger, our library also had a reading program every summer.  I picked up several packs of baseball cards every week, and I’m sure some other prizes too.   I was really into baseball cards though, so that’s what I remember.  Getting all of those free packs of cards was AWESOME!  The library probably had to increase their spending budget for prizes once the Dagarin kids started reading.

I’m thrilled that my kids are following in my footsteps!  It just wouldn’t be acceptable if my kids turned their nose up at a book!  I’d rather be frustrated that they’re reading too much than be frustrated by that fact that they have no interest in books.  Or that they’re playing too many video games, or watching too much TV.

Yesterday at my midwife appointment, Kbug asked if she could go out in the waiting room to read books.  One of the nurses asked, “How old is she?”  I told her that Kbug was almost 7, and the nurse kind of sighed and said, “I wish my daughter would ask to read a book!  She hates books.”  Can I just admit that I puffed up a little?  I am so proud of my daughter.

And thank you, Mom and Dad, for teaching me to read, and encouraging me to read, and for not taking my books away forever when I read at inappropriate times.  And Dad, I’m even grateful that you made us read a biography every 3 books, even though I still roll my eyes about your old rule.  I’ll probably be passing that rule on to my kids!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

  1. Yea for reading!!!! If I ever children, I want them to love to read just as much as I do. And until then, I’ll spend a few hot Texas summer lunch breaks at the library reading picture books – which would be much more fun with a little one, but oh well!

  2. ♥ You’re welcome!

    I almost signed up for the adult summer reading program at the E’ton library, but there were only a couple of books on the reading list that I would read, so I passed.

    Countdown to IH time……soon!

  3. How fun! I just signed Simon up for our library’s reading program too. I’m tempted to do the same for myself, but I’m a slow reader, so I doubt I’d go far. 😉 when I was a kid, the reading program was the highlight of our Summer. Just like the Dagarin kids, the Davoli kids cleaned the library out of prizes. Good times.

    P.S
    I LOVED baseball cards when I was a kid. I still have my Derek Jeter collection. 😉

  4. That’s my goal, too. I figure if I can get them to love reading, then learning will be a breeze for them. AND, if I can get them all to read by themselves, then theoretically I should more time for reading – right??? Someday I may be able to sit in the living room and silently read MY BOOKS!!!

  5. We did all of the summer programs last year and had a blast. Though, my 7-year-old daughter still isn’t too fond of reading. She was telling me about something she was reading this morning. I said, “So you actually enjoyed reading this?” “No, but it had some parts I liked.” I suppose that’s progress.

Leave a Reply

