Naming Baby… a tough game!

Standard

I’m determined to get through the “Name Your Baby” book before this newest Hunsberger is born.  You’d think that we’d have a few names left over from the first four kids, but no.  It doesn’t work that way!  We have to pick out a whole new set of names for each baby.

Right now I’m only to the “B” names in the girls’ section, and the “M” names in the boys section.   I’ll catch up quickly with girls’ names though, since I skip right over the “C” and “K” section.  Names starting with these sounds are my favorite, BUT… I already get my kids names horribly mixed up.  That, and Grammy said she’d disown us if we gave another grandchild a “C” or “K” sound!

I made Dee sit down last night and listen to the name possibilities I’d jotted down so far.  He scratched out 75% of them, so we’re making progress!  Sometimes he laughs when I read a name, and says, “You made that name up!”  Nope.  There are just some very creative names floating around these days.  Dee and I both like a happy medium:  not the celebrity fad, like naming your children after fruits, or elements, or your favorite bird… but also not the #1 name on the social security Top 10 list.  For example, I love the name Jacob, but that name is the #1 boys name right now, and Bella (which I also love) is the #1 girls name.  So, we’re not having a Jacob or a Bella.  Thanks, Twilight.

I have 8 weeks left (probably more) before the baby’s born, so that’s plenty of time to settle on a name or two, right?  I do need to have a few possibilities decided on though, because it has always freaked me out to think of sitting in the hospital trying to think of a name for the baby you just gave birth to.  I want my babies to have names within moments of birth!  I know some parents who are inspired with the perfect name after the baby is born, but that method doesn’t work for me.

I’m not having “babies,” plural, if that’s what the last paragraph sounded like.  Just one baby, as shown by ultrasound!  I did have someone ask me a couple of weeks ago, “Are you sure it’s not twins in there?”  This question right after someone else said, “Wow, you’re HUGE for having 10 weeks left!”  No ladies, you must have forgotten just how big pregnant women get.  And I’m short, so where else is this baby going to grow but out?!

I never get an ultrasound unless my midwife requests one, but Rosie told me to get an ultrasound a couple of weeks ago after I started spotting.  The ultrasound showed everything was fine!   As the technician was taking pictures, and measuring baby limbs and organs, she asked me, “So do you want to know if the baby is a boy or girl?”  Oh my word was I tempted!  At the beginning of this pregnancy, I’d mentioned to Dee that maybe I wanted to find out if it’s a girl or boy.  I don’t know why I wanted to know… we didn’t find out with any of our other kids… but for some reason I thought it would be nice to know what I was having this time.  Maybe bond earlier, make it easier to pack the hospital suitcase and stock the baby’s dresser (now I have to lug boy and girl 0-3 months clothing boxes out of the attic), and definitely easier in picking out names!  But Dee wants another surprise at birth, so I showed self-control and told the ultrasound technician no, I guess she shouldn’t tell me if it’s a boy or girl.  There’s no way I could know and then not talk about it!

So, I’m stuck with reading the entire “Name Your Baby” book.  Good thing we have an eight-hour car trip and a whole week of camping ahead of us!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

7 responses »

  1. No matter which name you choose, it will be perfect! Have a great time camping. Love you and I’m praying for you as you await this precious gift!!!

  2. Oh. Names. Steve and I disagree on so few things. But names are things we disagree on!!! I wanted Jillian for #3. He didn’t like that name. I LOVE that name. So, we only got a name for #3 about four hours before we left the hospital. And it took 2 hours of serious talk (with nurses popping in and out) before we got that name nailed down!!! And then when we got home, none of us could remember her name!!! Charlene? Sharon? Char….. oh, yeah, Charlotte!

  3. I always remember that being such a fun part of pregnancy…lying on my back with my legs up on the couch coming up with the most hilarious names and just imagining our kids going through life with those crazy names….but yes, I agree with Mary, the one you ultimately choose will be the perfect one. Have so much fun camping!
    Connie

  4. Ooooh, I absolutely LOVE names!!! I could read a name book just for fun. I love seeing what they mean, too. =)

    Tell us some of the names on your list!! 😀

    And I have never been able to wait until birth to find out what I was having. Kudos to you!!

Leave a Reply

