My druggie husband

Standard

If I had doubts before, I don’t anymore:  NyQuil works!  I’ve never taken the drug myself, but I keep it on hand for Dee.  We’ve even given it in small, small doses to the kids if they can’t sleep at night from coughing.

Last night I went shopping for stuff we’ll need on our week-long camping trip in Massachusetts.  I bought some stuff we don’t need too, like Pop-tarts, Slim-jims, gummy snacks, sugar cereal in those cute little personal-size boxes, Oreos… and pretty much everything else I saw at Sam’s Club that we never buy that will make the kids love this trip!  We’re going to be the cool family with the yummy junk.  And since we have everything in Sam’s Club size, enough junk to let my kids share food and be popular kids with the other campers!

I stopped at Starbucks to buy two pounds of ground coffee.  My mom was planning on bringing canned coffee camping, and I have to admit that I’m too much of a coffee snob to drink Folgers!  I got two tall iced coffees for free with my purchase.  (Yes, I’m a very valued customer!)  I was sipping away as I drove down the road to Kohl’s, and wouldn’t you know it, I spilled coffee down the front of my shirt.

At Kohl’s, I needed to pick up new socks for everyone.  First though, I picked out two wedding cards and carried them and a wadded up plastic bag in front of my belly, to hide the coffee spills on my shirt.  At the checkout counter, the cashier smiled and said, “Would you like me to take that bag for you?  You look like you’re doing that awkward holding thing.”  Yep.  That’s me!  I handed her the bag and gestured to my shirt.  “I was kind of using the bag to cover up my coffee spill.  That’s what happens when you’ve got a big belly!  It catches everything!”  She smiled and said, “Honestly?  I didn’t even realize you were pregnant!  You’re really not that big.”  Oh girl, I could’ve kissed you!  You lied, but that’s irrelevant.

So where does NyQuil fit in?  I made a few more stops as well, and by the time I got home, it was almost 10:00pm.  Before I started unloading the car, I went in to kiss Dee.  (I knew he hadn’t been sleeping long, because I called him on my way home to tell him I was done shopping.)  But he wouldn’t wake up for all the kisses in the world!  So I unloaded the car, and sat down to eat some supper and watch America’s Got Talent.  I was in and out of my room a couple of times, and Dee never stirred.  At 11:00pm I went outside to water my plants, and when I came back inside I found CJ screaming outside of my bedroom door.  Still no sign of Dee!  I tucked CJ back in bed, and when I finally crawled in bed a little while later, I tried again to wake Dee up with kisses and snuggles.  He was out cold!

This morning I asked Dee if he took NyQuil last night. He said, “Uh, yeah… why?”  So I told him.  He was a little disappointed that he’d missed all those kisses and snuggles!  I’m going to have to remember this trick if I ever don’t want him to wake up when I come to  bed…

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

6 responses »

  1. I love your new blog dress! And hooray for NyQuil… I love taking it when I’m not pregnant or breastfeeding – which, hmmm, hasn’t been that often in the past 3 years! I love your coffee spill story, too – yes, big tummies do hold a record of our whole day, but isn’t that why we love them? 🙂

  2. Conrad was just raving about Nyquil the other night. We have a cough, he couldn’t sleep, so he gets up and says, “that’s it, I’m taking Nyquil.” Didn’t hear a peep from him after that. Then of course he brags about it when he comes to bed while I have to toss and turn and cough all night… 🙂

    • I took a sip of brandy the other month, even though I was pregnant, because I just COULD NOT sleep for coughing! I figure brandy is all natural… way better than Nyquil, right? =)

Leave a Reply

