Me, the Barnyard

Standard

I have a new nickname.  It’s “Barnyard.”  Flattering, yes?  Dee and I were being silly after watching “Unknown” last night.  All the movie-watching options popped up, and I wanted to know why we couldn’t just say “deaf” instead of “hearing impaired.”  Dee says, “Well, we have to be politically correct.  Like, you’re not just pregnant, you’re an animal hauler.”  It was late (but I finally stayed away for a whole movie!), and this totally cracked me up.  I said, “Don’t you truckers call those animal trailers on the highway ‘farmyards?'”  I’m still learning my trucker lingo.   It’s actually “barnyard,” Dee corrected.  And there you have it.  Me, the animal-hauling “Barnyard.”

(As long as the kids don’t pick this nickname up…  I can just see us walking through Sam’s Club:  “Look, Mom!  There’s a barnyard!”  And then dirty looks from some poor pregnant lady.)

(Oh, and why do we call our kids animals?  Not sure.  Dee started it.  It has something to do with their wild, crazy ways.  But my animals sure are cuter than the lions and tigers at the zoo!)

So, my animal baby is growing just fine.  I saw Rosie on Thursday, and she said I’m measuring right on target for 36 weeks.  I’m not dilated at all, but I told her I’d be really surprised if I was!  I haven’t been having any contractions.  Baby is taking his sweet time, getting nice and fat in my tummy.

My blood pressure was acceptable: 90/59.  My new trick is to drink a whole liter of water on the way to my midwife appointment!  So I might be cheating, and my blood pressure might plummet once I leave the office, but at least my midwife is happy.  It’s not fun when your midwife yells at you.  In her nice, professional way of course.

I go see Rosie again next Thursday, and then every Thursday after that until this baby decides to come!  I can’t believe I’m already to the “see-my-midwife-every-week” stage.  Did I mention that I have a loooooong nesting list still?  And I have no baby clothes out?  Yeah, all the boxes are still in the attic.  Gotta love being Baby #5!  And I haven’t packed my suitcase for the hospital, or set up the cradle and made sure the sheets are clean.  We haven’t even finished reading through the “Name Your Baby” book!  I would say I should get busy, but it’s already super crazy with freezing/canning season underway.  Dee keeps telling me it’s okay, and that everything that needs to get done will get done.  And the stuff that doesn’t get done?  That’s okay too.  Because the baby will never know if my kitchen cabinets didn’t get scrubbed down.  Or if the windows on my 2nd floor still haven’t been washed in all the years we’ve lived here!  (Isn’t that horrible?!)  And you know what?  Dee’s right.  It’s nice to have a smart husband!  None of my issues are emergencies, and I would love to be able to relax and enjoy my already-born children as much as possible in these last few weeks of summer.

To the beach it is!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. Don’t fret, window washer plans to be there by the end of the week! Can’t wait! Seems like ages since we saw you all. And….remember our baby #5 was AB, all we did after she was born was sit and take turns holding her. My cleaning helpers for that baby were imported (lots of friends along with the family) ….we moved a week before she was born! So, use your imported cleaners this week, make your list and we’ll try to check a few things off. And, Dee is right, what needs to get done will get done and the other things really don’t matter.

  2. Wow, seems like time went by so quickly..of course that’s easy for me to say! LOL! My youngest daughter’s #5 is making 1 year on Tuesday! Yep, I agree my last # 4 (now in the army) didn’t even have his crib up when he came home…so different from #1!

    Yes, make it a goal to spend this time with your kids…you know how it is once baby is here.

    My niece calls her kids children of the corn..lol, I would rather have animal names any day…=)!

    Take care of yourself and enjoy!

    Aloha, Connie

  3. Ruth, I can’t believe you only have 4 weeks left to go! That’s amazing! Can’t wait to meet your little one! You have to post some updated pictures of yourself. I have thought many times about visiting you guys, but I am guessing you are as busy as us. Our summer is going way too fast! We start school in just two weeks.

Leave a Reply

