Strangers and baby bellies

Standard

According to every stranger that feels free to comment on my stomach, I am having a boy!  Not one person has mentioned a girl baby.  And maybe I’m forgetting, but it seems like more people than usual have voiced opinions about this baby!

There was the woman in Sam’s Club, who approached me and said something like, “Do you know if you’re having a boy or not?  Because from the back, I can’t even tell you’re pregnant.  And then WOW!  You turn around and you’ve got a huge belly!”

Or the guy in RiteAid who was standing behind me at the checkout counter.  “I don’t mean to be weird or anything, but I just have this ‘feeling’ that you’re having a boy.  Kids connect with me, and I always know.  It’s just a feeling I have…”  Okay, guy, that WAS weird whether you meant it to be or not.

Or the big black man in Sheetz, ringing up my newest indulgence.  (Those sorta make-your-own milkshakes?  Where you pick a flavor from the freezer, and put it in a nifty machine that lifts the cup up and mixes it into a SUPER DELICIOUS milkshake?  And then sets it back down for you to stick a straw in and sip away on its SUPER DELICIOUSNESS?  If your local gas station doesn’t already have a magic milkshake machine, then put it a request.  And make sure the little freezer is stocked with the double chocolate chocolate chip flavor, made by Hershey’s.)

Okay.  So, that guy ringing me up.  (I might have been buying three milkshakes… but not all for me…)  He said, “Whoa.  Take a step back there.”  I might have been puzzled if I wasn’t overly conscious of my whale-belly right now!  So I stepped back from the counter and displayed my baby bump basketball.   He said, “Wow!  You’re having a boy, right?”  I said I didn’t know, and he said, “Well, he’s going to be a hard-headed one!”

Yeah, you’re probably right, sir.  Most kids are!  But girls can be just as hard-headed as boys.  (I speak from personal experience.  My daughters, of course…)  And I’ve carried all five of my children the exact same way!  I’m not tall enough to let a girl baby grow a different way than my boys.  They all stick OUT!

So even though yes, I do personally think I’m having a boy, all of your comments don’t count, strangers.  My opinion has more to do with conception, but I’m not about to start that conversation with a stranger.

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

6 responses »

  1. Ha ha. I remember those stories. Maybe it is a boy…then again…it can be a girl. You do have a 50/50 chance of having either one. Sounds like you’re having fun. Enjoy!

  2. haha! So sorry, Ruth! I’ve just started to get comments like that! I don’t think people realize just how much room a baby needs to grow, and for those of us with smaller frames, there isn’t anywhere for that baby to go but OUT. I think you looked great on Sunday. Those milkshakes do sound delicious. I’ve been on a junk food craze the past few days…

  3. wow…that is really funny! Hey, I hear we are fighting over who gets Anna this fall! Well, let me say that you can have her first, but I get her longer!!!

  4. A milkshake machine? OMG, and here I am in love with those waffle machines at hotel breakfast buffets…they cannot beat a milkshake machine. My memories about those comments is with my last baby (26 now) who was born almost 9 pounds…people would say “Wow, are you having twins?” I’m small framed too! He is as terrific as twins! LOL!

    The only comment worse: “When are you due?” Not because its bad, just because it gets tiring having to give the answer! What an exciting time for you and yours….

Leave a Reply

