Basement pictures, and ways to induce labor that do NOT work!

Standard

Does somebody else want to come vacuum my house?  Maybe Baby doesn’t like my nesting style.  He missed another storm, too!  Now that I’m three days past my due date, I’m not giving him so much wiggle room.  Time to be born, and snuggle with the rest of the family for all of this rainy week!

I tried overdosing on red raspberry leaves.  I drank 18 tea bags and took probably 24 capsules in a 24 hour period.  No go!  A few sporadic contractions, but nothing that stuck.  Last night, Kbug told me, “Mom, I want you to go to the hospital tonight!”  (I’m not sure if she was thinking about the baby, or the party I’m sure will happen while Mommy and Daddy are gone.)  I told her, “Believe me, I do too.”  Besides the anxious-to-meet-baby-and-start-snuggling factor, there’s the size factor.  All Baby’s doing now is getting fatter and fatter, and I am NOT looking forward to pushing out a 9 1/2 lb baby!  (That’s the size Dee and I guessed.)

(This weight conversation happened on a walk, another try at inducing labor.  We’ve also tried all the fun, couple-oriented ways of inducing labor.  Which, by the way, did not work with my first four kids either.  I’m sure it’s a scam started by a male doctor.)

I tried over-eating.  Yesterday, for Labor Day, Anna and I made a yummy feast.  Chicken pot-pie, fried green beans, and stuffed jalapenos.  I ATE, let me tell you!  But it didn’t force Baby to give up his space.  If I had castor oil in my house, I’d be mighty tempted to drink it right now.

Maybe I should run out to Wal-Mart…

I promised basement pictures a while back.  Here’s where we’ve been hanging out, and where we’ll be hanging out a lot more in the near future!  (I’m the type of mom that loves company after a new baby, so stop on in to say “Hi!” and hang out with us!)

 

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

7 responses »

  1. Hi Ruth,

    What about doing stairs? Or carrying your heaviest child up and down the stairs. Or how about simply praying and begging God to let this baby be born quickly, safely and soon? The holding child and doing the stairs thing worked for me.

    By the way, I like your gentle explanations. So sweet. Can’t wait to hear about baby #5’s entry.

    Love,
    Paula

  2. Love the basement! And so disappointed to not hear the NEWS yet! I was hoping to get to squeeze your baby on Thursday!

    Sorry the “fun couple-oriented ways” didn’t work for you. I’m a total believer since ALL FOUR of our children were persuaded to make their appearance after such “fun”!

    Maybe you need to try again!

    Gina

  3. I know the feeling…so well. I pray for your peace and a safe and good delivery. Love the basement! Is that your “exercise” pole after baby is born? LOL…blessings on you!

Leave a Reply

