Where I pretty much complain about thrush. And drugs.

Standard

I couldn’t do it.  I filled Zach’s prescription, spent $20 for the stuff, but then I couldn’t give it to him!  His pediatrician prescribed Nystatin?  I’ve never heard of it before.  I gave Zach one dose, on the inside of his cheek, and then I was reading all the possible side effects of the drug.  Mouth irritation, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, or stomach upset… fast heartbeat, wheezing, muscle pain… rash, itching/swelling (especially of the face/tongue/throat), severe dizziness, trouble breathing.  And then, “This is not a complete list of possible side effects.”  Um, I don’t think so!  Not my two-week-old baby boy.

So it sits on the counter.

And I’m back to gritting my teeth every time Zach nurses.  Which, remember, is quite often.

And I’ll need to stick to my diet of plain oatmeal for breakfast, coffee with no sugar (I do cheat on a liiittttle bit of cream!), raw almonds for snack, yogurt, rice cakes and (all-natural, fresh-ground) peanut butter for lunch, all the veggies I want, rice and beans, and anything else I can think of that has no sugar, dairy, wheat, or yeast in it.

Dee wanted pizza from Tony’s for supper.  I said that was fine, I just wouldn’t be able to eat it!  Dairy, wheat, and yeast.  Sugar too, although not tons.  So then he wasn’t going to order pizza, but I pointed out that pretty much everything he and the kids would want to eat, I wouldn’t be able to eat.  He didn’t want to join me for rice cakes and peanut butter.  I told him to just throw a pizza party without me.  (That sounded sarcastic.  I didn’t mean it to!  I really hope my family can still enjoy yummy food in spite of my diet restrictions!)

I bought a baby probiotic powder that goes on Zach’s tongue and cheeks, and I’m still taking tons of probiotics.  Plus garlic out the wazoo (good thing it’s odorless), and lots of vitamin C and other anti-fungal stuff.  I’m slathering an anti-fungal/anti-bacterial cream on my boobs, and also a water/vinegar mixture before and after nursing.  Yogurt too, applied topically, is supposedly a miracle product.

We’re going to beat this thrush!  In the meantime, don’t try to talk to me while I’m nursing.  Or touch me.  Dee tries to kiss Zach’s head, and even that makes me extremely irritable.  Poor guy.  My big guy, not the little one.  Zach doesn’t seem to mind the thrush at all!  All the info I’ve read said that an infected baby might cry or fuss while nursing, since the thrush might be painful.  Nope!  He just chomps down and goes to town.

So.  That was a lot of girl talk.  Maybe too much info for my male readers?  But this is my blog for future memories.  ‘Cause yeah, I’m resigned to the fact that I’m going to forget almost everything!  I refused to believe it for many years, but I already can’t remember when Kirstyn and Cory were babies.  I can’t even remember how many times I’ve zapped my coffee in the microwave today.  Four, I think?

Oh!  I can eat popcorn!  Without butter, of course, but that’s what I’ll munch on during our movie tonight.

Also totally random:  My maple trees are turning red and gold!  This makes me all warm and happy inside!!!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

5 responses »

  1. Definitely up to you on painting his mouth with the nystatin. But – I did give it to O, before I learned the whole probiotic and apple cider vinegar thing. And, she had no side effects and got over the thrush VERY quickly.

    However, PLEASE, do what you feel is best for you and the baby. As long as the baby is eating, he’s not having pain. Sometimes with thrush, the baby will have mouth pain and refuse to nurse.

    praying for a quick recovery!!

  2. Hmmm, maybe I’ll support you by going on that diet, sure would be good for weight maintenance…and I like to eat like that. Gosh, I remember those yogurt on the boob days…LOL! Take care and I too am praying that the Lord would touch you and heal you and just continue to fill you with love and joy! Aloha!

  3. Oh I have SO been there. I thought we’d never get rid of it with my last baby. I did two whole bottles of the Nystatin and it didn’t help anyway. I tried yogurt and all manner of probiotics to no avail. We finally got rid of it with gentian violet. Hang in there!

  4. I always love reading your posts! Even when you’re frustrating with something you don’t really seem like you’re complaining. You’re so funny. But I am so sorry your are dealing with thrush. I’ll be praying for your little guy to get better quickly. I’m also glad to finally be recording my stories. I’ve forgotten so much!

Leave a Reply

