Home security systems are over-rated

Standard

I thought we needed a dog.  Maybe we don’t.

For clean-up?  Cameron crawls around on the floor after supper, eating leftover biscuit crumbs.  I do feed my children!  I promise.

For security?  Dee tells all the home security system solicitors that we don’t need an alarm system.  We hang dirty diapers outside.  Not quite the truth, but we do have a lot of dirty diapers!  Especially with a newborn.  They poop and pee a LOT!

For companionship?  Umm… take your pick of siblings, please!

For guarding the children while they’re out playing?  We have Cameron.  Last Sunday, on our way home from church, we passed the local cemetary.  Cameron asked, “Is that where we go to die?”  I said “No, that’s where people are buried, under the ground, after they die.”  I went on to explain how there are cemetaries everywhere, and you can choose which one you want to be buried at, and your body gets put in a casket, and I might have even tried a “body vs. spirit” discussion…

And I think Cameron was just waiting for me to finish.  He understood the main point.  “So,” he clarified, “We cut somebody with a knife and then take them there?”

Umm.. I did my best to explain the whole, huge wrongness of that picture.  My boys try to convince me on a daily basis that if they saw bad guys, they could shoot them or cut them.  No, I don’t encourage this.  I tell them to scream and try to run away, but they’re boys!  Macho men in small bodies.  I do appreciate their fierce, masculine protectiveness, but it needs to mature just a bit.

So.   Until my Cameron is much, much older and wiser, no pocketknives for Christmas or birthdays!

About patchofheaven

"Mom" sums it up quite well! I cook, I clean, I homeschool, and yes, I do still ride a tricycle. I love to read books to my kids, and every once in a while I manage to read a book "all by my big self." I journal about my life, here at patchofheaven; hoping to remember, grow, love more, and entertain my mom and other readers!

3 responses »

  1. HAHA! I had the same conversation with TJ yesterday, the hurting the bad guys one. They always seem to gravitate toward hitting the bad guys in a certain area of the body… I’ve given up trying to convince him he wouldn’t be able to and just pray he doesn’t get the opportunity!

  2. I just love your stories…I remember my two boys going through this. Once we took my kids and my nephews to a haunted house, something that we didn’t usually do, so I don’t even know why we decided to do it…anyway as we walked into a room with a casket, where we were warned that dracula pops out, my nephew puts his hand under his shirt and pulls out the wooden cross his mom usually had hanging above her entry door. Before we knew what was happening, he ran towards the casket with the foot high cross in his hand. Needless to say when “dracula” popped up and saw this little guy holding a cross to his face, he almost died laughing! Either way, it was still macho, the weapon of choice was just different..LOL! Gotta love them!

Leave a Reply

